Logo for SidingCompare.com

Consumer Reviews of Gentek metal siding


Popularity:
#18  of 22 brands of metal siding

33% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 6 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    1
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    1
  • Neutral
    0
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    0
  • Very Unsatisfied
    4

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to SidingCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of SidingCompare.com.

Read more about Gentek metal siding

Read reviews of other Metal Siding brandsWrite a review


Date created: 2012-12-29 Name: R Idita
Location: Boise, Idaho

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"REVIEW UPDATE"
Since my review of 2012-23-03, Gentek finally sent a paint crew around to do my "warranty refinishing" in late July of 2012. The contractor showed up at 8:30 am pressured washed my home and left a huge mess of paint chips all over my yard and flower beds. Around 3:00 that afternoon the contractor returned and spray painted the bare metal spots. No primer, no sanding, no surface prep except the power wash that morning. Contractor did minimal masking,and even less plant/flower bed protection. By 5:00 they were completed and gone. From a distance the house looked good. After close inspection, there was massive amounts of "overspray", areas missed or the paint coat was so thin the metal was still visible. My plants and lawn were trashed. Since no surface prep (sanding) was done, repaired areas are visible upon close inspection. In late October noticed a repaired area was beginning to flake and peel again. Since I now have the paint color code, I will repair the spots correctly, using primer, feathering out the edges and masking off the area. I can purchase a lot of primer, sand paper, masking paper, paint, and tape for the $20,000 I was quoted for a complete tear off and replace. Hopefully, the class action lawsuit settlement money will result in my paint and supply costs being covered.


Date created: 2012-07-14 Name: B. Ayala
Location: Bondurant, IA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Peels and chips"
Our entire house and garage is peeling, and flaking. After jumping through all of the hoops to make a warranty claim on siding that I thought had a lifetime warranty, Gentek (a division of Associated material) would only offer to powerwash it and paint it or give us a check for $2,500. Our siding started peeling at about 10 years old. Talked to an attorney and he said it would cost me 5-10k to take them to court on my own. Got estimates for replacing and those came in at about $22,000...$5,000 of which was labor to tear off and dispose of the Gentek garbage. I have been fighting this for about a year now and have gotten nowhere. This company does not live up to their implied warranty that is misleading to the consumer and they should have discontied selling their product until they corrected the adhesion problem they were aware of long before I ever bought their metal siding.


Date created: 2012-03-23 Name: R. Idita
Location: Boise, Idaho

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Do not install"
1998 Paid $9000.00 to have Gentek (Alside) steel siding installed on my residence. 2004 Siding finish began to peel, blister and flake off. 2008 Filed warranty claim. GENTEK claims to have a "LIFETIME" Warranty. Claim denied due to lack of proof of purchase. 2009 Re filed claim with requested/additional paperwork and proof of purchase. Claim accepted. Offered options of $1000.00 minus $100.00 deductible to go away or have GENTK "Authorized Repair Contractor" refinish my defective siding. Paid the $100.00 deductable for refinish/repair. 2011 AFTER BEING TURNED OVER TO THE THIRD refinishing contractor in three years. Contacted lawyer. Joined class action lawsuit. Contacted local siding installation firms to get bids for removal and install of new (non GENTEK) siding. Bids ranged in price from $1800.00 to $2600.00 Late 2011 Received a letter informing me that my claim was being transfered to the "priority" refinishing list April 2012 No contact since late 2011, still waiting to hear if/when the contractor is going to be around to complete the warranty work. Meanwhile, my siding finish has gone from 25% defective to 50% +. In my opinion, it is now beyond repair (other sections are begining to show signs of defect)and replacement is the only option. I will not allow any Gentek Product to be re-installed on my residence.


Date created: 2011-10-05 Name: Bryan
Location: Iowa

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Gentek in class action lawsuit"
Gentek is currently in a class action involving metal siding peeling, cracking. They offer to "refinish" it and replacement is not an option for the consumer. They have been aware of the problem since at least 2001 if not longer. I have their product on my house and am having the same problem and have spent several months just to get a reply back. They do not have a claims adjuster to come around. You have to measure, take pictures, and submit the entire claim yourself and then it is months before you hear back. My siding started failing at 8 years old. Just do a web search for Gentek complaints and you will wish you never bought it....it will take longer than 2 years for the problem to show up.


Date created: 2011-05-15 Location: Richmond, Va

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Great product that is low maintenance"
I have had my metal siding for about two years now. It looks beautiful. I haven't hardly seen any wear and tear and I have yet to do any maintenance on the house. No need to paint the siding every so often, which is nice since I don't have to worry about fading. A slight negative is that in high winds it can be a bit noisy, but that is only in certain circumstances. The ruffling in the wind happened to me but I spoke with my contractor and they just added more insulation and fastened the siding better. Meaning that the problem most likely was an installation error. I would for sure recommend this product to a friend if they were looking for metal siding. It has great positives, such as its great return on investment in the sense that I should not be replacing the siding as often as a person with conventional siding.


Date created: 2011-02-06 Location: Des Moines,IA

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"good siding for you buck"
I have owned my Gentek metal siding for about 2 years now. I think the siding is great because it it durable, light weight, affordable, and it lasts. It also comes pre painted and that saves you some work. Most of all it looks really good. What I don't like about it is it can be hard to seal it up around windows and doors. One other thing i don't like about it is if it is hit with something it can cause dents. This can make things not look so good. I have not had to repair or replace any of the siding. I am guessing because it is so strong. I would most definitely buy the same brand again. Yes I would recommend it to a friend I have already recommended it to a friend and my dad. I am very glad i went with Gentek metal siding.