Siding Compare

Consumer Reviews of HardiePlank Cement Siding

#1  of 5 Cement Siding Brands

85% of Customers Recommend
4.5 of 5 stars 56 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
  • Somewhat Satisfied
  • Neutral
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
  • Very Unsatisfied

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to They do not necessarily represent the opinions of

Read more about HardiePlank cement siding

Read reviews of other Cement Siding brandsWrite a review

123456Next >>

Review Written: 2016-04-14

HardiePlank Review: "Not Satisfied"

Name: B Larsen
Location: St George NB

Cement Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Put Hardiplank on a new house in 2007, was prefinished, painted boards. We have since had to paint it twice, the paint is peeling off again, we are taking the Hardiplank off the house. Had difficulty contacting the company for warranty on the boards. Would not use again.

Review Written: 2016-04-11

HardiePlank Review: "Paint falling off"

Name: greg watson
Location: levant maine

Cement Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

The paint was falling off my Hardie Plank the first year and has never stopped. The Hardie Plank co. has not even spoke to me about my siding once.

Review Written: 2012-07-25

HardiePlank Review: "Smooth Hardie Plank Siding, many problems, poor service"

Name: J P
Location: WI

Cement Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

I would never use this product again, the compnay is terrible!! Our Hardie Plank smooth siding has been a big disapointment. After siding about half of the house we noticied in various types of lighting it had divets about the size of a golf ball as well as blisters of the same size. We then called our distributor who came out and looked at the product and agreed it did not look good. We waited four weeks for a Hardie Plank rep to stop out and look over the problem. Our Rep Elsa Sanchez was 100% worthless! She said she had never seen the problem and asked us to not put anymore siding on the house. I informed her that any delay in the siding would push our entire project back as we needed to paint facia, soffit, new gutters, downspouts, re-grade yard etc. She told us she was going to send some of the product back to the factory for review, it would take 3 days as she was going to FedEx the samples back. Well 3 days turned into a month, too many things happened but it could not be any worse. In the month delay we had rain issues in the house as the lack of gutters allowed a driving rain behind the house wrap. Hardie Plank is not willing to stand behind the product, they will NOT pay to have it removed, reinstalled or for any rain damage, costs from delaying the project or attorney fees. Read the fine print prior to even thinking of using this product, remember ours was defective from the factory, which is another issue, do they have any type of quality control?? Now the factory is questioning if anything is really wrong with our siding !!! REALLY !!! I guess big divets and blisters are what you get from Hardie Plank, they think it is just fine!

Review Written: 2011-06-23

HardiePlank Review: "The greatest cement siding I have ever witnessed"

Location: Downingtown, PA

Cement Siding Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

I have owned this cement siding for about 7 years and it is by far the best I have ever witnessed. 7 years have passed and it literally still seems completely brand new. It is unbelievable how durable it is. I don't dislike anything about it. I know the warranty is really great even though there pretty much will never be a need to use it. I recommend this to anybody who needs cement siding.

Review Written: 2011-06-23

HardiePlank Review: "The Cement Siding we Chose During Construction"

Location: Puyallup, WA

Cement Siding Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

When we engaged in a lengthy construction project 5 years ago, there were numerous choices we were obligated to make. Of course one such decision was the material that would be used for the exterior of our home. After much investigation, research, studying construction and design magazines and just simply driving about several neighborhoods, we arrived at our choice. That choice was to use Hardy Plank cement siding for the exterior of our home. Our contractor had also recommended it as well and had used it for her custom home. We were also faced with the issue of fire safety issues and as our home is on a large wooded lot there was no fire hydrant nearby. To circumvent having to put a sprinkler system in the ceilings which would have been costly, the clearest and most cost effective choice was to use cement siding and a composite roof. All in all, we have had no problems or complaints and would definitely recommend it to a friend and or use it again.

Review Written: 2011-05-28

HardiePlank Review: "Hardieplank Looks Good, takes paint well, durable"

Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan

Cement Siding Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

When I wanted to side my garage I originally purchased a pressed board product with a wood grain texture, but it looked cheap and nasty and more importantly looked like it would not hold up to the Michigan climate. The smooth HardiePlank seems at first to give an unnatural look, but in fact it is better than any of the fake wood-grain materials. I've had HardiePlank on my garage for about 15 years now and it has held up beautifully. I did the installation myself. My only complaint is that the cutting of the material creates a lot of dust when done with a circular saw, but there are specialized tools for cutting that eliminate this problem. What I liked best is that the material took paint beautifully -- I painted quickly with a sprayer -- and it has held up like, well, like cement. I recommend HardiePlank to anyone who asks and I would readily use it again. If I had a big job to do I would rent or perhaps even buy the shears necessary to reduce the dust.

Review Written: 2011-05-14

HardiePlank Review: "Consumer review of Hardiplank siding"

Location: Atlanta, GA

Cement Siding Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

I've had Hardiplank siding on my home for over 7 years. I like it because it is not susceptible to rot which is a serious problem in a high humidity climate. It also holds paint quite well. The original paint on my Hardiplank siding is still in great shape after 7 years. There has been no deterioration of the siding. No repairs or replacements have been necessary. The Hardiplank siding is very durable. It has held up well to several storms with high wind conditions. I would highly recommend this product to anyone. I am in the real estate business, and the only siding products that are acceptable to buyers without any misgivings or concerns is Hardiplank cement siding or brick. Since Hardiplank is at least 15% cheaper than brick, is the logical choice for anything other than luxury homes.

Review Written: 2011-05-06

HardiePlank Review: "HardiePlank Cement Siding"

Location: Raeford, North Carolina

Cement Siding Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

I am the original owner of a 1999 single-story ranch home in North Carolina. During the time that I have lived here we have had two hurricanes and an infestation of termites. The contractor used a light coating of cheep paint. This has visibly worn in several places, but the siding shows no damage. There was no damage on the siding from the termites, though some of the lumber to which the siding was secured had to be replaced. There has been no splintering around the edges. I have had to drill some holes to install hangers, lights, and run cable. I used a standard wood bit on the drill and the holes have shown no wear. Some of my neighbors have vinyl siding. We are near a major military base and the noise from artillery fire is less obtrusive in our home than in the vinyl sided ones. My insurance company offers a discount because of the fire resistance of the siding. I am very satisfied, and would choose cement siding over any other type of siding.

Review Written: 2011-05-02

HardiePlank Review: "About My Cement Siding"

Location: Sandy, Utah

Cement Siding Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

When I built my home about a year ago I finished the outside of it with HardiePlank cement siding. I have really been pleased with every aspect of this siding. I chose to use cement siding because it is very durable and is a really great insulator for your home. I really like how nice it looks and the touch that it adds to my home. This particular brand of siding is one of the more expensive brands of cement siding that you can buy. However, I fell that you really do get what you pay for when it comes to cement siding. If you want something that will last you a really long time and is guaranteed to hold strong, you want to make sure that you get a trusted brand. I have recommended this siding to many of my friends as they were building their homes and they are all completely satisfied with it also.

Review Written: 2011-04-26

HardiePlank Review: "My views on cement siding"

Location: daytona beach

Cement Siding Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

We have had hardiebroard siding on the gable ends of our home for over 10 years now and I must say that tis is the first time I've thought about it. So as far as I'm concerned it is a quaility product. It wears well with a simple pressure wash and hods the paint very well with no chips or cracks in over 5 years. It was simple to install with the right sawblade (you must get a cement broard saw blade). The weather gaurd is very efficent and we have no leaks. Remember we went through 3 hurricanes one year and the siding never wavered or leaked I would defently recommend this produce to all comers. The only thing that I don't like about it is the jasmine that grows on the side of my house take root on very easy and leave little foottprints when you pull them down. All in all this is a superior product

123456Next >>