Logo for SidingCompare.com

Consumer Reviews of James Hardie cement siding


Popularity:
#6  of 10 brands of cement siding

77% of customers recommend
4 of 5 stars 9 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    6
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    1
  • Neutral
    0
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    1

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to SidingCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of SidingCompare.com.

Read reviews of other Cement Siding brandsWrite a review


Date created: 2013-06-09 Name: hank prater
Location: southwest virginia

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"James Hardy Sierra 4x8 siding"
I installed 24 sheets around a block pool enclosure in 2008. Expensive and hard to handle. The siding started to delaminate in 2012 and I filed a complaint with James Hardy company. They came by and told the the siding was fine, and that it was installed improperly. I am a 28 year contractor and now will not use their products. The customer service is terrible. Even General Shale Brick will provide free replacement brick if they have a problem.


Date created: 2011-06-23 Location: Baltimore, MD

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"HardiPlank Cement Siding; Versatile and Practical"
I installed HardiPlank on a rental home at the suggestion of a local contractor, and have been quite satisfied with the results. As I am not a contractor myself, I had some minor difficulties performing the install, but nothing that could not have been improved with more hands-on experience with the product. The panels were very heavy and delicate, and required a bit of finesse in sawing and nailing them down to prevent breaking them. However, the final product looked absolutely gorgeous, even after several years, and they have stood up amazingly well to heavy weather and inconsiderate tenants. Overall, I highly recommend this product, just get a buddy to help you install it.


Date created: 2011-06-01 Location: Parks, St. Martinville, LA

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"When Tough Siding Is The Only Option"
Living in an area prone to tropical storms and hurricanes can be tough, not only on a family and community, but on a house. That is one of the harsh realities we learned early on after purchasing our home. We're native to this area, so the weather and it's effects were no surprise to us, but what did surprise us was the damage that was so easily done to the exterior of our home. After our first hurricane season in our home, we realized that we would have to implement some type of siding that could withstand years of such weather. HardiePanel is exactly what we were looking for. We have had it on our home for 11 years and it has been one of the best things we have ever invested in. The solid structure is second to none and the pattern design is functional and looks great. It was extremely easy to paint when we decided to change the outside colors of our home and keeping it clean is so very simple. I can not find a complaint worth even mentioning, because there really are none, in my opinion. If I would have to say one negative thing, for the sake of fairness and comparison, it would be that the sheets of panel are very heavy and often times required two adults to lift and put into place. That being said, the heaviness and durability are exactly why we love this product. We have never had to replace or repair the original panels that we installed. It has sustained winds in excess of 80 miles per hour, rain, and hail. I would recommend this product to anyone and everyone, especially those homeowners who live in areas prone to bad weather events. This is just a great product and I am so glad that we found it when we did and saved ourselves a lot of time, money, and heartache.


Date created: 2011-05-28 Location: Pensacola, Florida

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Cement Siding - A Must have for all Beachhouse Owners!"
We purchased a home in beautiful Gulf Shores, Alabama a few years ago and installed new James Hardie Cement Siding to better protect our home from the costal weather elements. We chose James Hardie Cement Siding because it is engineered specifically for homes in coastal areas that are faced with hurricane-force winds, salty sea air and brutal, humid heat conditions throughout the year. Another reason I chose the James Hardie Cement Siding was their 30-year limited, transferable warranty which offers nonprorated product coverage for the entire 30 years. The cement siding pieces came pre-primed and ready for our contractor to paint which was a huge plus! In the 32 months we have had the cement siding we have never had to replace or repair a single piece. I would definitely buy this brand and model cement siding again and highly recommend it to friends and family.


Date created: 2011-05-28 Location: moscow, ID

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"The best solution I could find."
I have owned my cement siding for the last 6 months. I used it because my house had a bad look because the exterior was damaged. I like it because compared to other solutions, use this siding was cheaper and until now I'm very happy with the results. My house looks great and it didn't cost me too much. I have not had any problem and yes I would recommend it to my friends and family and I already did that because my sister had a similar problem and I told her about this brand and she also thought, it was a good decision.


Date created: 2011-05-14 Location: US CA LA firestone

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"a review of Cement siding ....."
iam using this brand's cement siding at my home since 2004 and iam very much satisfied with this brand's fine quality and beautiful look beacuse it's really of very good looking material....one and only thing which i dislike about this brand is that they need very much care to use upon sufaces otherwise they may lose their position's.....but i got them in their right places and i never replaced or repaired them because they are as they were in their first day .......and yes definitely iam goin to buy this brand's cement sidings for my new home in my future and iam goin to recommend it to all of my friends and relatives beacuse i experienced this brand and i found it as i expected......thnx for having my review about cement sidings at my home.....


Date created: 2011-05-09 Location: Los Angeles, CA

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"Acceptable Cement Siding"
I have owned my James Hardie cement siding for about 3 months now. What I really like about the siding is that it sets my house apart from all the others in that it steps away from the conventional stucco. I have gotten many compliments on my house ever since the change from stucco to the cement siding. The downside to having this siding is that the color fades fast, but I think that goes for all things that are painted. Other than that there have been no other problems. I have not had to replace any sections yet and the product has so far been true to its word. It is durable, stylish, and easy to upkeep. If in the future I plan to renovate a new house, I would definitely purchase the exact same cement siding and I would definitely recommend it to friends looking to upgrade their homes as well.


Date created: 2011-05-09 Location: Nashville, TN.

Satisfaction Rating:

2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"My cement siding."
I got this on my house about 1 year ago and I am somewhat satisfied with it. Satisfied enough to keep it but I am looking for a change. I like the color the most, but I don't like the way it looks once it's finished, and I don't like the brand so much now that it's been done, but that could be who did it. I haven't HAD to replace it yet, but I am looking to do that within the next two years, if needed. I would buy the brand again, but maybe a different model, or I might switch to Nichiha brand, because my friends house looks great. overall, I'm not completely unsatisfied, but I do think that this brand could step it up a little bit better, or I need to find a company that puts it on better, either way, it's useable, but not very acceptable, in my opinion.


Date created: 2011-05-06 Location: Arlington, WA

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Pleased and Impressed"
We are very pleased with our new siding. We had cedar siding on our old house which was about 15 years old, but when we built the new house, we went with our contractor's recommendation of Hardie Plank and Hardie Panel. It has been up for about 9 months. So far we have had no problems whatsoever. We love the look of it and it seems to be insulated better to keep our home warmer too. Since we haven't had it that long, I don't have information about the longevity of the product. I can tell you that it went up quickly and looks great - as expected. It was pre-primed and we did the painting ourselves (big project!). The Hardie material did not soak up undue paint and it went on smoothly, so despite our inexperience, it looks really great and we got great coverage with our sprayer. We used two types of siding and it gives our house a nice look. We get compliments on our exterior and people think it was expensive, but in fact I think it was a reasonable price and I expect it to last much better than our cedar siding did.