Siding Compare

Consumer Reviews of Alcoa Metal Siding


Popularity:
#4  of 6 Metal Siding Brands

70% of Customers Recommend
4 of 5 stars 10 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    5
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    2
  • Neutral
    1
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    1

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to SidingCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of SidingCompare.com.

Read more about Alcoa metal siding

Read reviews of other Metal Siding brandsWrite a review


Review Written: 2019-06-07

Alcoa Review: "Issues"

Name: Maureen E Hazlett
Location: Tucson, AZ
Model: United States

Metal Siding Satisfaction Rating:
3 of 5 stars Neutral

My Alcoa siding is having issues, the paint has peeled off the trim. this makes the whole house look tired. I need help getting the trim repaired. It was billed as being good for life.


Review Written: 2018-09-05

Alcoa Review: "Peeling paint"

Name: Douglas Bauling
Location: Urbana, Il
Model: Legacy Series

Metal Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

I Purchased Alcoa Legacy Series steel siding in Dec. 1994. It was installed early in 1995. The product has a 50 year none-prorated warranty. Unfortunately, Alcoa sold the siding business to PlyGem. When the paint started peeling in 2012, I touched up the bare metal spots with paint. The peeling continued so I contacted PlyGem and submitted a warranty claim in 2015. The claim was denied because I had touched up a few small areas in 2012. The peeling has continued spreading far beyond any touched up areas. Now in 2018 PlyGem again denies a claim because of the initial touch up. There is no way that the failure has anything to do with my attempt to protect the bare metal in 2012. The 50 year warranty is apparently worthless. I can say the same thing for PlyGem. Avoid their products and save yourself a lot of grief.



Review Written: 2016-03-24

Alcoa Review: "Strong for many years now."

Name: Elaine Thomander
Location: Beacon, NY

Metal Siding Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Our Alcoa (now Mastic/Plygem) siding has held up for years and years and years. I don't know anything about the newer stuff. However, I definitely recommend the old brand.


Review Written: 2011-02-26

Alcoa Review: "Vegas heat and aluminum sheet."

Location: Las Vegas

Metal Siding Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

I'm from a city built on man's pursuit of the green stuff. More specifically, a town that offers infinite and instant riches to those willing to dance with that ever fickle mistress lady luck. Yes indeed, from day one, I have called the city of sin, Las Vegas, my home. It is in fact true that people ACTUALLY do live here. The casino bars and restaurants so loved by tourists aren't stocked and serviced by the same one arm bandit that stole your bucket of nickels last night. Now that we have established that Vegas does indeed have a resident population, we can then further deduce that those people need places to live. Homes, apartments, condos and the occasional freeway underpass all do well to meet this need. My house, although not as roomy as an underpass, fits me quite nicely. I've lived in the same home for 25 years now, and the house was built around 40 years before that. If you want a place to stand that kind of time in the unforgiving desert of Vegas, you need one thing most of all...a strong sturdy siding to protect it. In fact, that's exactly what I've got. Aluminum siding was completely foreign to me before I bought this house. Since then, it has become my favorite aspect of home. It's an Alcoa brand aluminum siding that was installed with just a few nails per panel. All the panels are set with an overlap to form a solid wall, just the same way roofers use to place tiles. Out here, brick homes or those with wood siding simply cannot last. You're left with two options really, aluminum or stucco. Aluminum is by far the easier of the two to maintain. I've replaced several panels over the years, primarily for aesthetic reasons. You see, paint fades quite dramatically when it's unrelentingly punished by the desert sun rays. The benefit of the siding is you can choose to slap in a new panel rather than paint your whole home. A luxury not to be undervalued when you're doing home improvement underneath that same sun. If I were to have to choose the exterior material on a home again I would most certainly repeat history, and install Alcoa's aluminum siding once again!


Review Written: 2011-01-06

Alcoa Review: "Alcoa Aluminum Siding On My Shed"

Location: Green Bay, WI

Metal Siding Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

The metal siding on my shed is Alcoa aluminum siding, and I have it on my shed for the past four years. Upon deciding what siding to buy, me and my friend discussed the possibilities but we came to the aluminum siding, and through past purchases we came to buy from Alcoa. We have owned the siding for the past four years, but have known about the company for over six or seven years. I like the siding in that it's durable and looks nice. It doesn't look cheesy and corny from afar and up close, it looks like a solid well built shed that will last the test of time. I dislike that it is LOUD. When it is raining or you drop something alongside the interior it makes a loud bang that can somewhat get annoying, but other than that it is perfectly fine. I have never had to repair it or replace because I take care of what is my own, the only problem that I have come across is when I put a dent it in by running into my shed with my rider. Although small dent, it was not worth replacing the side of my shed. I would buy the same brand again because it has lasted the test of time in my case and I am satisfied with the durability, and would definitely recommend it to a friend.


Review Written: 2010-12-31

Alcoa Review: "Mr"

Name: phillip stacy
Location: jacksonville, fl 32217

Metal Siding Satisfaction Rating:
4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

It was easier to put on than we thought it would be. It seemed to moderate the temperature of the building in a favorable manner. Held up nicely over the years with low maintenance. Was expensive to buy and install.


Review Written: 2010-12-14

Alcoa Review: "Mrs"

Name: Lauren Peterson
Location: Maryland

Metal Siding Satisfaction Rating:
4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Seems to be okay. Looks good and has held up well through weather.


Review Written: 2010-12-10

Alcoa Review: "Bad Aluminum"

Location: Seattle, WA

Metal Siding Satisfaction Rating:
2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

I have owned this siding for about 10 years and I like the idea of the durability of the product but I dislike the chalking and the color retention. I did have to replace an unsightly peace that was damaged but it was inexpensive and simple to remove and install. I would not recommend this product for every environment but I would buy it again to use in a different location.


Review Written: 2010-12-07

Alcoa Review: "Ms"

Name: sally wess
Location: titusville,pa

Metal Siding Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

this siding has been on our house for over 30 years. each year, we powerwash it, and it looks like new. it was a great investment.


Review Written: 2010-12-07

Alcoa Review: "Mr"

Name: Brian Campbell
Location: Richmond, VA

Metal Siding Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Had this on a house I previously owned and it held up well. Good choice of colors, good install. Added to the resale value too! Definitely recommended