Logo for SidingCompare.com

Consumer Reviews of Mitten vinyl siding


Popularity:
#22  of 24 brands of vinyl siding

36% of customers recommend
2.5 of 5 stars 11 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    3
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    1
  • Neutral
    0
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    2
  • Very Unsatisfied
    5

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to SidingCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of SidingCompare.com.

Read more about Mitten vinyl siding

Read reviews of other Vinyl Siding brandsWrite a review

12Next >>

Date created: 2014-07-30 Name: Chris Mastalerz
Location: Springfield, MA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Mitten Vinyl Siding Defective & Inferior Product - 50 yr. Warranty (Don't believe it)"
The Mitten Vinyl installed on my house (Mass.) approximately 2 years ago started bubbling/warping on the North/West sides of the house 9 mos. After installation. Additionally, the remainder of the house has faded dramatically. My attempts to date to have the company rectify this situation since it is obvious that their product/material is defective or flawed amount to clear "stonewalling" as a resolution. They insist that the fading is normal and the distortion(bubbling/warping) is caused by some "unknown concentrated external source, most likely window reflection". They continue stating " This phenomena is rare and only occurs in a unique set of conditions". They conclude "It is not the result of a defective vinyl siding product, and therefore is excluded from our warranty program". A real scientific analysis/conclusion - So much for their 50 year Warranty Program - Valid Claims 1-2 Yrs. Old Are Not Honored. Incidentally, both My Contractor & Manufacturers Rep. Agree that the vinyl siding is defective. Avoid "Mitten" products; save yourself the grief. Currently, I am in the process of filing a formal complaint with the Massachusetts Attorney General's Office. I strongly encourage other dissatisfied/economically harmed customers to initiate the same action.


Date created: 2014-07-28 Name: j toombs
Location: charlottetown prince edward island

Satisfaction Rating:

2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"Dutchlap premium faded"
My siding has faded poorly. We do like the siding and are wondering our options to bring it back to the color when it was first installed 9 years ago. Could you give my wife and I some ideas what can be done to bring back to the original color? We would buy this product again.


Date created: 2014-07-20 Name: D Pinkowski
Location: Glens Falls,N.Y.

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Don't buy Mitten siding"
New house, 7-27-13 with Mitten siding. Severe fading in front, light fading on sides within 6 months. Still waiting for mitten to do "testing". Was told by rep. that it will take some time to remove pieces, send to Canada and get results. Then Mitten will decide what to do. I have had siding contractors look at the siding. They agree there is a problem. They state this is common with Mitten and they will not use this co. I was told Mitten will ignore the warranty. Ask the builder what he uses!


Date created: 2014-07-07 Name: Annette
Location: Edmonton, AB

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Vinyl siding fading...Again!"
2010 new siding was put on. 2012 the South and West walls of siding had to be replaced due to fading. 2014 have to replace the South and West walls of siding again. Due to fading! So far, not happy with this product at all.


Date created: 2013-05-01 Name: L. Daub
Location: Arnprior, On

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Happy camper 11 years"
Having removed an outdoor light fixture, I had to patch in a piece from the siding I had stored inside the garage. Curious to see if there was any fading, I took the patch piece to the south side of the house. I have a good eye for color, but could see only an almost imperceptible difference, after 11 years of southern exposure. Our siding is a dark tray/green, supposedly more susceptible to fading than lighter shades. Well done, Mitten!


Date created: 2012-08-23 Name: TERRY
Location: edmonton, ab

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Fading"
My siding faded after two summers, Mitten has to repalce three walls but not doing the whole house, not impressed. I have to be inconvenienced again. I would not recommend this product/brand to anyone.


Date created: 2011-05-18 Location: St. Petersburg, Fl

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Beautiful Long Lasting Siding"
I had the vinyl installed about one year ago. It is a soft cream color that I just love. The installer did a wonderful job making sure that the lines of the siding (when the peice is over) are not too visible because I have a pet peeve about things like that. Honestly there is probably nothing I can say that I dislike, it has made my home even more homier than it was! It's beyond easy to clean and I get nothing but compliments about it. I wouldn't change a thing! Honestly I'm looking into getting a screen room/ florida room done! SO easy to clean!


Date created: 2011-01-14 Name: E Carroll
Location: Margaree, newfoundland

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"richmond red fades"
My siding faded badly after two summers but only on the sides that the sun shone for any length of time. I was told it was the weather conditions in my provience caused it. Its being replaced my Mitten but I still havent received it yet and have to find someone to install the new siding if I get it!


Date created: 2011-01-09 Name: R. Lara
Location: San Antonio, TX

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Ho hassle siding"
I am very happy with the Mitten vinyl siding. My original choice was cement but I am very glad I went with vinyl instead. The appearance is nice for such an inexpensive product and after many months of intense sunlight and occasional harsh rain storms I have experienced no noticeable fading. The practically maintenance-free aspect of this material is the real selling point for me though. I rarely have time to look after such things with my hectic schedule, however I still want the material to be able to hold it's function and not deteriorate without constant upkeep. The Mitten vinyl siding has certainly provided me with this and I would purchase it again without thought.


Date created: 2010-12-10 Name: melissa wallace
Location: middletown oh

Satisfaction Rating:

2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"mrs."
I like the color but i would not buy that brand again.

12Next >>