Siding Compare

Consumer Reviews of Sears vinyl siding


Popularity:
#12  of 12 brands of vinyl siding

15% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 13 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    2
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    0
  • Neutral
    0
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    2
  • Very Unsatisfied
    9

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to SidingCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of SidingCompare.com.

Read reviews of other Vinyl Siding brandsWrite a review

12Next >>

Date created: 2016-01-02 Name: chris odijk
Location: southern Ca

Satisfaction Rating:

2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"Not completed"
Our install looked nice but the contracted installer refused to complete the job. We had an area separate from the side of our house. Because they refused to install that area of our house is now two different colors old and faded and new and bright.


Date created: 2015-12-19 Name: Lee
Location: Cleburne, tx

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Price gouging inferior product"
Stay away from Sears. They will make false promises so you buy their product and it starts failing before two years are up.


Date created: 2015-11-12 Name: Liz
Location: Scottsville, NY

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Faded and forgotten"
Very sad with Sears. I have been calling for 6 months and just get told someone will be over to take a chunk out for 100.00. Well several calls, several people, several disconnects, several lies. I have always bought Sears product, now I'm done. I got Sears siding because of the lifetime warranty but that was a lie. Now I have red siding that is white in spots. So sorry so sad. Contact me if you know any way I can get someone from Sears to help me or if you know how I can talk to someone from Sears higher up because I have called several people from Sears and they tell me only one persons handles the Siding.


Date created: 2015-09-30 Name: Sue
Location: Tulsa Ok

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Very disappointed"
First let me say that we already had vinyl siding and it was in good shape, but we had been in the house 30 years and needed a change. We decided to go with Sears because we had always purchased Sears/Kenmore appliances with no problems and had new windows installed by Sears a few years ago without a hitch, they have been around forever, so we knew they would be around if we needed a repair and we had confidence in them that everything would go well, that has all changed now. From the beginning, we knew we were paying top price, but we were okay with that because of the reasons I already mentioned. We had the siding installed in May 2015. The contractors seemed nice, but trampled my plants and left nails and small pieces of siding around the grounds, I can deal with that. When my husband and I had a chance to look the job over thoroughly we came up with a list of 15 items that needed to be fixed which included some very basic things like 45 degree angles that should have been cut in the window trim and were not, gaps of trim coming out from under the bay window, the trim up the peeks of the house and around some of the windows looked warped, etc. We told them there was no rush but after a month I had to call to see when they might schedule some of the repairs. Here we are 4 months later, endless amounts of emails and phone calls escalating to upper management and pushing and pushing to finally get job fixed the way it should be. At points I was misled to think I was talking to someone up a few levels then our project manager, come to find out the guy I ended up talking to was desk mates with my project manager, they were at the same level. I called billing, since I had nowhere to turn at one point and was told that I would receive a call back in 24 to 72 hours, itís been almost 2 weeks, I have not gotten a call back. I could go on and on. In the end, we are totally disappointed and will never deal with Sears again.


Date created: 2015-07-27 Name: J Scott
Location: Fairfax, Virginia

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Terrible Installation and Contractor"
Sears is the worst contractor we have every dealt with and 8 months later my siding Weatherbeater Max and Plus is still not installed correctly. The sub contractor they used for the initial install has had his license taken away and they keep sending out these no name technicians who are not repairing or installing the siding correctly. Please do not waist you money by having Sears do your siding.


Date created: 2015-07-20 Name: Rose Zampi
Location: Mannsville

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Terrible!"
Siding is coming off the house, wholes, ripples called since April 13th 2015 to repair no one has come yet it is now July 20th. I have called and called willing to pay their $100.00 a hour but no one will come I paid $25,246.00 for this siding with a lifetime warranty but the warranty is no good!


Date created: 2015-07-14 Name: draycrof@rochester.rr.com
Location: Rochester, NY

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"What warranty"
Very sad with Sears the siding was put on summer of 2011. It is faded badly. I have called 12 times in last 3 months. They say there is only one person who looks at siding and make sure you have 100.00 ready and be prepared to have a chunk missing from your home for a bit as we check. Well I have been ready and no show on the one guy who checks it. I hear now if it is deemed bad then be prepared to have checkbook or card ready to pay installer which will cost more that what the siding would cost. I paid double all the other companies because of the lifetime warranty. When I signed contract I was just reading it first and the salesman said oh do not bother reading as I will explain in full. He said this is what it says "never worry about Sears we cover all of it for life and that's why all people should go with us." Well I went with them and now I am forgotten and faded. Sad.


Date created: 2015-04-30 Name: G.Duffey
Location: Raytown,

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Quality isn't what it used to be!"
When you have a straight edge and you can't align the downspout with that edge, then you donít care about workmanship or how the house looks. The electrical nightmare begins... After the installer left for the day on Friday, my wife and I smelled a "burned electrical" smell but could not locate it. Shortly thereafter we discovered that we had no electricity in the front two bedrooms and the ceiling of the garage. We also noticed the lights in the house dimming (brown out) when the A/C would kick on. We contacted our salesman, who called the installer, who came over and began ripping the siding off the front of the house. He decided to do this because the rooms without power were on the front. We had to demand that a licensed electrician be called to properly assess the situation (this should have been the first thing done). The electrician came on Monday, interviewed us, called for a second electrician to help him, and using specialized equipment (it took four hours) they finally located the approximate location of the "short" -- it was on the back of the house where the installer had run a nail through a feeder wire coming out of the panel. The electricians informed us that the "only thing they could do to get us back up and running" (quickly, as this was Monday evening) was to splice the wire. To meet code, they would have to put in an externally accessible junction box so they could run a new line from the panel and splice it to the feeder line above where the nail went in. By the time we had power in the entire house, it was three days. We worried the entire time that there might be a serious fire. An ugly box had to be added to the middle of wall where our deck is, to meet code because the contractor put a nail through a wire and shorted out two rooms on the opposite side of the house. The electrician commented that the "breaker was no longer working properly" and that we should replace all of the breakers (actually suggested the entire panel be replaced with a quote of $2400 but did not explain why). The installer paid the electricians and then he "patched things up" and left. NOTE: This panel was installed in 1990 along with ALL of the wiring in the entire house. We bought the house from a builder who was re-building the home (he purchased from an insurance company following a lightening strike fire that burned the entire house). This entire house had was brought up to current codes and standards. We have NEVER had a single electrical issue. Because the "brown out" was still occurring when the A/C would kick on Ö On Tuesday, we called a licensed electrician to come over to look at our panel. When he opened it up, the a/c kicked on and he saw it arc. He immediately threw the main and called KCP&L to come over and pull the meter so he could put in a new panel. Another entire day with NO power (in the entire house this time), and a costly bill to pay the electrician for a new panel and lots of jumping through hoops to get city approval to get the power turned back on My wife and I consider ourselves extremely fortunate that the smoldering in the walls did not advance any further. We, very easily, could have had a major fire (electrical fires seldom come out well Ė we watched our neighbors house burn down ten years ago). How frightening to think of getting everyone out of a burning house (my wife with her disabilities, two Great Danes and a cat) and praying the fire department can save a home and a lifetime of memories.


Date created: 2014-10-02 Name: Mike D
Location: Saint Petersburg, FL

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Not worth the money"
I paid a lot of money for Sears siding in 2010 but I was happy with it because of the "lifetime" warranty. It is now 2015 and the siding is falling off the front of my house. When I called Sears to have it repaired they said the lifetime warranty will cover the the materials but not the labor (which is all I need since it just needs put up again). This alone make it not worth it as the original cost of this siding should cover any possible labor needed to repair it. The "piece of mind" I thought I was paying for just isn't worth it. Save your money and get a general contractor to do it. It will cost much less, even if you have to replace several times.


Date created: 2014-02-26 Name: OSO GARCIA
Location: NEW MEXICO

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Sears siding falling apart"
In 1999 my grandfather had put on the Sears siding. Soon after it started falling apart. The windows were crooked, they used a lot of cocking to fill in the gaps threw out the whole house. In 2008 there was a windstorm and some of the siding from the very top pitch came off. When I called for my grandfather, the Sears rep said that it was a "finger of god" accident and that it was not covered. Again this "finger of god" concept came across when we had a hail storm and wholes were put threw out the house. I have been very disappointed with sears! On top of it all, I cant find parts so that I can repair these "finger of god" mess- ups. Needless to say, after my grandfather passed in 2010 we found out how much he had paid for the siding. My grandfather was ripped off! I could have bought him a brand new double wide trailer with all the bells and whistles for that much! I wouldn't get sears or any of their products if you gave them to me. Very unsatisfied

12Next >>