Logo for SidingCompare.com

Consumer Reviews of CertainTeed vinyl siding


Popularity:
#6  of 12 brands of vinyl siding

60% of customers recommend
3.5 of 5 stars 38 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    18
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    5
  • Neutral
    2
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    12

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to SidingCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of SidingCompare.com.

Read more about CertainTeed vinyl siding

Read reviews of other Vinyl Siding brandsWrite a review

1234Next >>

Date created: 2015-07-23 Name: Kay
Location: Minnesota

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Poor product"
We built a new garage 2 years ago and all the siding looks warped or melted. Contacted Certain Teed they sent someone up to look at it which he drove in our yard turned around and left. He would not return our calls a few days later got a letter in the mail stating that it was not properly installed, how would he know he didn't check it! Buyer beware this company is crooks.


Date created: 2015-04-19 Name: Rickey B
Location: Boston Ma

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Defective siding"
Installed Certain Teed Pacific Blue vinyl siding in 2009 and in 3 months the siding became deformed and looked like it melted. The company that installed the product contacted Certain Teed and replaced the damaged area. Now a different area is worst then the previous location and Certain Teed tells me that they have already fixed this once and it was a one time deal. They never sent us anything about one time deal. They tell me it was window reflection and install full screens. We did what they requested and then they tell me it roof reflection, sky lite reflection, and now it's the way the sun they way it hit the house. Now the siding in another area has melted .The issue I have is the deformed area is behind a 8ft tree. Is this bark deflection? There is no warranty with Certain Teed. It's no longer the expense that will occur changing this it's the principal. So I will continue to contact Certain Teed until someone resolves this issue. so I will continue to to go after Certain Teed until Someone from customer service contacts us to resolve this issue.


Date created: 2015-02-04 Name: J. Mallory
Location: Va

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Switched to Norandex."
My house had 5 different shades of sterling gray on one side. Sales rep wouldn't replace. Had it taken down and replaced with Norandex Great Barrier Granite Gray. It looks wonderful! Norandex products just feel like a better product and look great!


Date created: 2015-01-01 Name: G.S.J
Location: Minnesota

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Does not stand up"
Had the siding installed about five years ago. Last year I noticed some color changes and chalky appearance. Contacted installer who claimed he would look after it. Nothing happened. Had to contact the company who said someone will get in touch with me. Again nothing. Had to call several times for followup. Ultimately they claim the issue is normal although the white chalky powder comes on your hand. Cannot recommend the product and the company. The customer support does not exist.


Date created: 2014-10-27 Name: Tom N.
Location: Northeast

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Outrageous color discrepencies"
I recently had my house sided with a CertainTeed double 4 vinyl siding and was immediately disappointed with the product appearance. The colors do not match the corner post and other components. Even more discouraging is the extreme degree of color difference between individual panels on the same side of the house. This is not from weather fade as it is all completely new and was just installed. I contacted customer support and was instructed to fill out forms and send pictures to assist with this as a warranty claim. I of course did my part to follow-up immediately. It was not possible to have a conversation with any individual that could help evaluate the poor aesthetic quality of the CertainTeed product. After several weeks I received a letter stating the following: "In this case, the photos do not provide sufficient evidence of a manufacturing defect, as some level of a visual difference between the siding and accessories can be normal and expected." So, according to CertainTeed it is "normal and expected" that colors of the same product family, ordered at the same time and installed immediately following receipt of the materials will not match. To be clear, this is not a case where the colors are even close! I'm talking about an appearance that distinctly looks like two completely different color families. I will be telling my story to everyone who is interested and have an entire photo album to demonstrate what is typical for this company as "normal and expected". Everyone who has seen the photos so far is flabbergasted and admits they would not have this on their own home. Everyone says, "have you contacted the manufacturer?", "I can't believe they wouldn't make it right". Well, that's what I thought but unfortunately they won't.


Date created: 2014-10-27 Name: Orin shreves
Location: Prattville al 36067

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Bubbles everywhere"
We have Board and Batten by Certainteed not six months old round bubbles everywhere. Called the person that hung it they sent Mr Hicks from Montgomery the territory manager. He came out looked told our neighbors it look like a manufacture defect that they had problems with. There glue was headed to someone else who had the same issues. Took months many phones calls to him to find out that they said not their problem. Nobody wants to take blame now having engineer coming out from the insurance office to look at it been at least 6 months and still fighting and 18 thousand dollars. Next will be a lawyer. Do not use this product.


Date created: 2014-06-20 Name: Joe Varig
Location: Huntington, NY

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Waste of money"
I used CertainTeed Cedar Impressions siding with matching corners. Both the siding & matching corners were a total waste of money. After 4 years the finish looks dull and it stains easy. The matching corners always look crooked and will easily pull off. Stay away from this product


Date created: 2013-11-03 Name: B.Ing
Location: minnesota

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Mainstreet D5"
I have Mainstreet D5 savannah wicker installed 2 years ago that has developed boils, wrinkles & fade. Certainteed says it is reflective sun damage and won't even look at it much less cover the repair. With all of the problems Certainteed has had with siding and roofing the past few years, I will never again purchase a Certainteed product because they don't back their warranty.


Date created: 2013-04-16 Name: Mary Glaser
Location: Portland, OR

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Buyer Beware"
Sided new house in 2004 and loved it. Recently filed a warranty claim for excessive fading. Claim was approved. Hired a siding contractor to demo old siding and install new Cedar Impressions Natural Clay siding. Came home after the first day of installation to find replacement siding greatly inferior to the original. The grain detail was diminished, line shade was reduced which made the shake appearance "flat" instead of like a cedar shake. The color was altered to a degree of which we would have never chosen back in 2004. Note the small print when dealing with CertainTeed. They can discontinue, alter, modify any siding at any time without notifying homeowners. So, if you damage a small section of siding and it's not a warranty issue, you may have to reside your entire house because chances are the new siding will not match. In fact, the replacement siding they sent us was larger than the original, so we could not have replaced only sections of the siding - we had to re-side the entire house.


Date created: 2013-04-15 Name: B.

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Buyer Beware"
Installed on new home in 2005. Recently filed warranty claim due to fading. Claim accepted. Started to install replacement siding only to find the new product of inferior quality to original; less grain detail, shadow line depth decreased and natural clay color lightened to a shade would have never purchased. No longer looks like cedar shakes; looks like cheap plastic. To anyone filing a warranty claim - get a sample first or you may be in for a bad surprise.

1234Next >>