Logo for SidingCompare.com

Consumer Reviews of CertainTeed vinyl siding


Popularity:
#3  of 11 brands of vinyl siding

71% of customers recommend
4 of 5 stars 32 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    18
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    5
  • Neutral
    2
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    6

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to SidingCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of SidingCompare.com.

Read more about CertainTeed vinyl siding

Read reviews of other Vinyl Siding brandsWrite a review

1234Next >>

Date created: 2014-06-20 Name: Joe Varig
Location: Huntington, NY

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Waste of money"
I used CertainTeed Cedar Impressions siding with matching corners. Both the siding & matching corners were a total waste of money. After 4 years the finish looks dull and it stains easy. The matching corners always look crooked and will easily pull off. Stay away from this product


Date created: 2013-11-03 Name: B.Ing
Location: minnesota

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Mainstreet D5"
I have Mainstreet D5 savannah wicker installed 2 years ago that has developed boils, wrinkles & fade. Certainteed says it is reflective sun damage and won't even look at it much less cover the repair. With all of the problems Certainteed has had with siding and roofing the past few years, I will never again purchase a Certainteed product because they don't back their warranty.


Date created: 2013-04-16 Name: Mary Glaser
Location: Portland, OR

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Buyer Beware"
Sided new house in 2004 and loved it. Recently filed a warranty claim for excessive fading. Claim was approved. Hired a siding contractor to demo old siding and install new Cedar Impressions Natural Clay siding. Came home after the first day of installation to find replacement siding greatly inferior to the original. The grain detail was diminished, line shade was reduced which made the shake appearance "flat" instead of like a cedar shake. The color was altered to a degree of which we would have never chosen back in 2004. Note the small print when dealing with CertainTeed. They can discontinue, alter, modify any siding at any time without notifying homeowners. So, if you damage a small section of siding and it's not a warranty issue, you may have to reside your entire house because chances are the new siding will not match. In fact, the replacement siding they sent us was larger than the original, so we could not have replaced only sections of the siding - we had to re-side the entire house.


Date created: 2013-04-15 Name: B.

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Buyer Beware"
Installed on new home in 2005. Recently filed warranty claim due to fading. Claim accepted. Started to install replacement siding only to find the new product of inferior quality to original; less grain detail, shadow line depth decreased and natural clay color lightened to a shade would have never purchased. No longer looks like cedar shakes; looks like cheap plastic. To anyone filing a warranty claim - get a sample first or you may be in for a bad surprise.


Date created: 2012-12-06 Name: John
Location: CT

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Cedar Impressions"
New house. In less than 1 year, developed white spots in the cedar impressions on the front of my house. Contacted Certainteed. They want a sample to test - which will leave a hole on the front of my house, with no guarantee of replacement. We (Me & my builder) sent pictures. Nope, want a sample, denied our claim. They won't even send out a rep to take a look. Too bad. I was really impressed with the product, appeared to be great quality & loved to look (past tense). I wouldn't use Certainteed again! Clearly there warranty training manual must say "Deny! Deny! Deny!" and hope that the consumer just gets tired of fighting.


Date created: 2011-12-05 Location: nj

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"very good siding"
new, very easy, no repairs needed. I have had no issues with the siding thus far other than it was a lot to do but very easy to care for.


Date created: 2011-11-30 Name: Monica Wristbridge
Location: Margate, NJ

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Homeowner"
Our home was built in 2007 and our Pacific Blue siding was fading.......Certain Teed sent a representative to our home took a piece of the material and did an analysis, in turn, they denied the claim......after several more phone calls, they determined that their product was defective..........they paid the entire cost of labor and replacement........thanks Certain Teed!


Date created: 2011-10-19 Name: Matt Wristbridge
Location: Margate, NJ

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Pacific Blue"
We just got denied by certain teed. They took a piece of our Pacific Blue siding and shipped it to Michigan. Two weeks later they denied our claim even though the siding is more white than blue. The salesman visited our house and said Pacific Blue has been defective in the 2007 time frame and that it was obviously defective. The installer said, "Blue Sucks" as soon as I told him about the problem. He apparently has gotten several calls from other homeowners with regard to Pacific Blue. We told the warranty guy we are going to sue the company if the problem is not corrected under our warranty. He said not to do that just yet. Don't know if this is a delaying tactic. We just bought a double lot that we plan to develop just around the corner from our current home. The siding spec is going to call for, "Not Certainteed".


Date created: 2011-05-28 Location: Clearwater, FL

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Great Vinyl siding, very durable."
I own the the cedar impressions vinyl siding from Certainteed. We are very satisfied with the vinyl siding. It has lasted us several years and has many, many years to go. It looks like Real cedar siding but without all the hassle. The only thing you have to do is once in a blue moon go out and clean it with a hose and soap, Or a pressure washer. We live in Florida, and the siding has been through the intense heat, hurricanes, thunderstorms, and one time it even hailed in the winter. It is pretty durable and still looks brand new. It turned my boring house into a house that stood out in the neighborhood. It looks like real wood, and Ive gotten a lot of compliments from friends. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who is looking for siding for their house. It is great and is actually pretty cheap


Date created: 2011-05-21 Location: Salem, Or.

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"Wonderful siding for a uniquely satisfying finish on your home."
I ordered the Cedarboards XL product line of siding when I decided to redo my home roughly 3 and a half years ago. When I got the first shipment, I knew that I was going to be pleased, but I really didn't know what to expect as far as maintaining, repairing, or replacing. The good things definitely have shown through many times since installation, and I love them. It used to be a big hassle to get my pressure washer out, scrub for hours only to hardly notice a difference, and then continue the process every summer. Now, I can come out once a season with a quick handheld squirt bottle, and the dirt literally comes off with ease. I don't know if its just me getting lucky, but it's been very nice having almost no work to do when it comes to the siding. I didn't like the fact that when I ordered it, there were only a couple options, and now that a few years have gone by, new options are popping up right and left, and it's left me wanting a different style, but same brand and model number. I have never worried about replacing it, besides changing the style, and it's backed by a decent warranty. I would probably reccomend this brand to older home-owners, but it's been nice on my property and I would continue purchasing this stuff.

1234Next >>