Siding Compare

Consumer Reviews of CertainTeed Vinyl Siding


Popularity:
#6  of 12 Vinyl Siding Brands

57% of Customers Recommend
3.5 of 5 stars 42 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    18
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    6
  • Neutral
    2
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    15

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to SidingCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of SidingCompare.com.

Read more about CertainTeed vinyl siding

Read reviews of other Vinyl Siding brandsWrite a review

12345Next >>

Review Written: 2016-08-06

CertainTeed Review: "Pacific Blue shiny and flat appearance"

Name: Chawn Gehr
Location: Williamsport, PA
Model: Pacific Blue

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Noticed soon after 2008 installation siding began developing spots as if it had a clear coat that was shiny in areas and flat in others. We thought it was dirty, so cleaned it regularly as per CertainTeed website instructions. Would appear better briefly but always returned, and has spread to all heights/sides/channel, etc.. Made warranty claim and when pulled/replaced required sample noticed significant fading. Denied claim based on fading, and did not even address the primary issue of the mottled/spotty appearance despite that claim noted the fading as only a secondary concern. Claim appealed and they sent out a rep. Very nice guy, but he worked for CertainTeeed and clearly has a vested interest in not approving a warranty claim. During his visit,he pointed out spots we had not even seen, and attributed them to staining. Efforts to have a real conversation about what could have possibly "stained" our home fell on deaf ears. He mentioned sometimes people "spray for hornets" or "use a chemical" and later forget. When directly asked how, if such a thing happened that we did not recall, didn't he think it was odd that it was affecting the ENTIRE house? No true response, just deflecting and vague statements about "staining", of course from no specific source. Just got another letter again refusing our warranty claim and will be appealing for a second time and asking for an outside source to evaluate their materials. Interestingly enough, just in case someone has the red...our neighbors had same appearance with near install date and replaced in full and they were told at that time the "dyes and pigments" were sourced from "less stable" sources causing their problem. Rep agreed that happened with the red, but not the blue. Seems odd. If you have the Pacific Blue and had a successful warranty claim would appreciate your suggestions.


Review Written: 2016-03-31

CertainTeed Review: "Don't believe colors will match if you order Monogram & Cedar Impressions in same color"

Name: Charles Gavoni
Location: Brant Rock, Ma
Model: Monogram & Cedar Impressions

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Purchased Monogram clapboard siding in "sterling grey" for front and back of house along with Cedar Impressions "sterling grey" staggered shakes for side of house. Huge difference in colors after job was up. Sales rep at Harvey industries, distributor, agreed after looking at samples. Certainteed Field rep agreed after looking at house. Samples and Pics sent to certainteed lab and their findings were everything met "their manufacturing specifications" They won't do a thing about this. I'm now in process of hiring a lawyer. Believe me, they do nothing but give excuses such as, "the light reflects differently off each product" or "the grain patterns are different" The fact is: their product ingredients are wrong for the particular product. They need to change the "recipe" or change the color names of each product. Don't trust this company without demanding an inspection of each product, not color chips, before purchasing it. And don't expect any customer satisfaction beyond a smiling face saying "Certainteed is a huge company who wants their customers happy" bs!



Review Written: 2016-01-20

CertainTeed Review: "Recent install"

Name: D. Joeright
Location: Seattle, WA
Model: Monogram 46

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Bought and had installed Monogram 46 horizontal vinyl siding by a local contractor. Had a few bad boards but overall I'm happy. Hopefully it will not need replacing anytime soon.


Review Written: 2015-07-23

CertainTeed Review: "Poor product"

Name: Kay
Location: Minnesota
Model: Cyprus

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

We built a new garage 2 years ago and all the siding looks warped or melted. Contacted Certain Teed they sent someone up to look at it which he drove in our yard turned around and left. He would not return our calls a few days later got a letter in the mail stating that it was not properly installed, how would he know he didn't check it! Buyer beware this company is crooks.


Review Written: 2015-04-19

CertainTeed Review: "Defective siding"

Name: Rickey B
Location: Boston Ma
Model: Pacific Blue

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Installed Certain Teed Pacific Blue vinyl siding in 2009 and in 3 months the siding became deformed and looked like it melted. The company that installed the product contacted Certain Teed and replaced the damaged area. Now a different area is worst then the previous location and Certain Teed tells me that they have already fixed this once and it was a one time deal. They never sent us anything about one time deal. They tell me it was window reflection and install full screens. We did what they requested and then they tell me it roof reflection, sky lite reflection, and now it's the way the sun they way it hit the house. Now the siding in another area has melted .The issue I have is the deformed area is behind a 8ft tree. Is this bark deflection? There is no warranty with Certain Teed. It's no longer the expense that will occur changing this it's the principal. So I will continue to contact Certain Teed until someone resolves this issue. so I will continue to to go after Certain Teed until Someone from customer service contacts us to resolve this issue.


Review Written: 2015-03-24

CertainTeed Review: "Wolverine siding is junk."

Name: Pissed off homeowner
Location: Blaine, MN
Model: Wolverine

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

If you are planning to replace your existing sidings with CertainTeed's Wolverine sidings, think twice about it. I had a hail damage back in 2008 and signed up with MasterCraft Exterior (comes around the weather damaged neighborhood in a black monster truck) to replace my sidings and roof. Within one year of replacing the sidings, it started wrapping and buckling. The installer claimed that it was heat reflection from my neighbor's windows that is causing the siding to be damaged. I filed a claim and they replaced it. Within 2 years of replacement, the same issue started occurring. This time CertainTeed is not covering since they do not warrant against the heat reflection anymore. I think the sidings should be durable to withstand heat reflection from neighbor's windows. None of my neighbors are having the same problem who replaced their sidings from different manufacturers. Per a legal advice, it will cost me more to take them to the court. I am going to bite the bullet and will contract with HomeDepot or Lowe's to get replaced. I have learnt my lesson here. I will never ever use CertainTeed's Wolverine products and use MasterCraft Exterior as the installer.


Review Written: 2015-02-04

CertainTeed Review: "Switched to Norandex."

Name: J. Mallory
Location: Va
Model: Mainstreet

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

My house had 5 different shades of sterling gray on one side. Sales rep wouldn't replace. Had it taken down and replaced with Norandex Great Barrier Granite Gray. It looks wonderful! Norandex products just feel like a better product and look great!


Review Written: 2015-01-01

CertainTeed Review: "Does not stand up"

Name: G.S.J
Location: Minnesota

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Had the siding installed about five years ago. Last year I noticed some color changes and chalky appearance. Contacted installer who claimed he would look after it. Nothing happened. Had to contact the company who said someone will get in touch with me. Again nothing. Had to call several times for followup. Ultimately they claim the issue is normal although the white chalky powder comes on your hand. Cannot recommend the product and the company. The customer support does not exist.


Review Written: 2014-10-27

CertainTeed Review: "Outrageous color discrepencies"

Name: Tom N.
Location: Northeast
Model: Double 4 Vinyl

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

I recently had my house sided with a CertainTeed double 4 vinyl siding and was immediately disappointed with the product appearance. The colors do not match the corner post and other components. Even more discouraging is the extreme degree of color difference between individual panels on the same side of the house. This is not from weather fade as it is all completely new and was just installed. I contacted customer support and was instructed to fill out forms and send pictures to assist with this as a warranty claim. I of course did my part to follow-up immediately. It was not possible to have a conversation with any individual that could help evaluate the poor aesthetic quality of the CertainTeed product. After several weeks I received a letter stating the following: "In this case, the photos do not provide sufficient evidence of a manufacturing defect, as some level of a visual difference between the siding and accessories can be normal and expected." So, according to CertainTeed it is "normal and expected" that colors of the same product family, ordered at the same time and installed immediately following receipt of the materials will not match. To be clear, this is not a case where the colors are even close! I'm talking about an appearance that distinctly looks like two completely different color families. I will be telling my story to everyone who is interested and have an entire photo album to demonstrate what is typical for this company as "normal and expected". Everyone who has seen the photos so far is flabbergasted and admits they would not have this on their own home. Everyone says, "have you contacted the manufacturer?", "I can't believe they wouldn't make it right". Well, that's what I thought but unfortunately they won't.


Review Written: 2014-10-27

CertainTeed Review: "Bubbles everywhere"

Name: Orin shreves
Location: Prattville al 36067
Model: Board and batten

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

We have Board and Batten by Certainteed not six months old round bubbles everywhere. Called the person that hung it they sent Mr Hicks from Montgomery the territory manager. He came out looked told our neighbors it look like a manufacture defect that they had problems with. There glue was headed to someone else who had the same issues. Took months many phones calls to him to find out that they said not their problem. Nobody wants to take blame now having engineer coming out from the insurance office to look at it been at least 6 months and still fighting and 18 thousand dollars. Next will be a lawyer. Do not use this product.


12345Next >>