Siding Compare

Consumer Reviews of CertainTeed Vinyl Siding


Popularity:
#7  of 13 Vinyl Siding Brands

49% of Customers Recommend
3 of 5 stars 51 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    19
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    6
  • Neutral
    2
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    23

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to SidingCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of SidingCompare.com.

Read more about CertainTeed vinyl siding

Read reviews of other Vinyl Siding brandsWrite a review

123456Next >>

Review Written: 2018-08-16

CertainTeed Review: "Siding melted"

Name: Dianne Freking
Location: mn
Model: Monogram

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

We had one corner of the house that the siding melted from sun exposure. I contacted the company no response from them no warranty on the siding. To bad so sad. Find another company for siding.


Review Written: 2018-07-12

CertainTeed Review: "Uneven fade"

Name: Ed M
Location: Shelton, CT
Model: Cedar Impressions

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

We had CertainTeed Cedar Impressions installed 18 years ago because our contractor recommended them because of their 50 year warranty on the product. Make sure you read the fine print as it is prorated. Our siding faded in various areas about twice as much as the other areas and left our house with a blotchy look. After filing a claim the rep came out and measured everything with a spectrometer were faded in excess of the allowable limits spelled out by CertainTeed. He reported that all 4 sides were covered under warranty and would be replaced. Wrong, Certainteed sent a letter saying we were entitled to a 10% warranty refund that amounted to a little over $2000. Can't do anything with that as the original job cost over 20K 18 years ago. Would I recommend Certainteed for any of their products. Absolutely not. Already telling friends looking to side their placed to avoid CertainTeed products at all costs. Their products are more expensive at purchase and not really backed up by the company.



Review Written: 2018-05-21

CertainTeed Review: "They dont stand behind their product"

Name: Chris Connors
Location: N.Y

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

I had my house sided and over the winter an area warped. I was told by installers that it looked like a bad square. I wrote the company and told them about what happened sent them pictures and all the stuff they asked for. They got back to me and said it was caused by heat. It did get up to the high 50s once this winter so who knows. I asked them to send a representative but looking at the other reviews it looks like I will be SOL. Look elsewhere before you buy this garbage.


Review Written: 2017-09-24

CertainTeed Review: "Warped, discolored, and chemical odor."

Name: W. Tatro
Location: Peabody, MA
Model: Monogram Ivy Green

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

We have had our siding on the house for about 15 years, but we noticed it starting to fade, warp, and smell on the south side of the house after 10 years. A contractor told us he has never seen siding look like ours, and suggested filing a claim since it's a lifetime warranty. The company was pleasant to talk to on the phone, but it took about 5 months to start really getting through to them. I had to send digital photos to them and the first time they were misplaced. I had to fill out the complaint form twice, because the first one was misplaced. They wanted me to send a 3 foot section of the damaged siding to them, but that would leave an unprotected area on the house since we have none to replace it with. I explained this to them on the phone. I asked if they could send a local representative to look at the damage, and also to smell the chemical odor. They said they only have 5 representatives in the country. I finally called the Better Business Bureau, and CertainTeed told them and us that the damage was caused by a reflection from a window, even though the entire side and half the front has at least discoloring to it, warping and fading in other areas. This is all done from the sunlight and nothing else. It's too bad that there are so many other people going through what we are, but it's a relief to know we are not alone and it's the product, not us. I have also read that there are representatives that can come to the house, so I'm not very hopeful our claim will be settled correctly.


Review Written: 2017-03-13

CertainTeed Review: "Certainteed Monogram Pacific Blue Double 5 warping"

Name: julie schmalz
Location: New Orleans
Model: Pacific Blue

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

As a 5 star Contractor through Certainteed I am very disappointed in their warranty. I have a customer that we installed Certainteed Monogram (their thickest panel) Pacific Blue Double 5 profile to his entire home. When the sunlight shines on the house all of the siding warps and buckles. They have denied the warranty claim stating that it is improper installation. I am Vinyl Siding Institute Certified along with the Certainteed 5 star contractor accreditation. This vinyl was installed correctly per vsi specs. I can see now from other posts that this is a common problem with this siding. Certainteed does not back up their warranty


Review Written: 2017-02-10

CertainTeed Review: "Melted and looks bad"

Name: Elizabeth D. Johnson

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Would not buy again. On home when I purchased it. New home. Denied my claim. Siding appears to melt and looks bad. Siding around two years old. In two places. Told me it was the sun projecting heat from window. I saw on internet a law suit has been filed against the company. If it can not take heat should not be used.


Review Written: 2017-01-15

CertainTeed Review: "Looking great after 12 years!"

Name: M. G.
Location: Chester Springs, PA
Model: Monogram

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

I have had Monogram Silver Ash siding on my house for 12 years now. The product looks great - still holding its color and looks as good as it did in year one. I saw a bit of mold had formed on the siding this year and cleaned it per the instructions in my warranty, and it looked so good I did the same thing at my entryway, too. Nice to see a great product last so long (like you would expect).


Review Written: 2016-09-20

CertainTeed Review: "Certain junk"

Name: P.S
Location: NY
Model: Monogram

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Stay away from the Certainteed Monogram siding. They do not honor the fade warranty and this junk will fade fade fade. Absolute junk. I went through the warranty process... Filled out forms, sent a sample, sent receipts etc. It was denied with a form letter, based on their testing of the sample. A horrible company to deal with. They will not honor the warranty stay away!


Review Written: 2016-09-19

CertainTeed Review: "Bubbles & Warps"

Name: Jared R
Location: Franklinville, NC

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

We had CertainTeed siding installed our new home in 2009. Very shortly after it was installed, we noticed that the siding started to bubble and warp on the warm side of the house. I contacted the company to file a warranty claim, but they just simply dismissed it as a "concentrated reflection from the sun and gutters" that caused intense heat. They didn't even come out to look at it! I will never use this brand again. They don't stand behind their products!


Review Written: 2016-08-06

CertainTeed Review: "Pacific Blue shiny and flat appearance"

Name: Chawn Gehr
Location: Williamsport, PA
Model: Pacific Blue

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Noticed soon after 2008 installation siding began developing spots as if it had a clear coat that was shiny in areas and flat in others. We thought it was dirty, so cleaned it regularly as per CertainTeed website instructions. Would appear better briefly but always returned, and has spread to all heights/sides/channel, etc.. Made warranty claim and when pulled/replaced required sample noticed significant fading. Denied claim based on fading, and did not even address the primary issue of the mottled/spotty appearance despite that claim noted the fading as only a secondary concern. Claim appealed and they sent out a rep. Very nice guy, but he worked for CertainTeeed and clearly has a vested interest in not approving a warranty claim. During his visit,he pointed out spots we had not even seen, and attributed them to staining. Efforts to have a real conversation about what could have possibly "stained" our home fell on deaf ears. He mentioned sometimes people "spray for hornets" or "use a chemical" and later forget. When directly asked how, if such a thing happened that we did not recall, didn't he think it was odd that it was affecting the ENTIRE house? No true response, just deflecting and vague statements about "staining", of course from no specific source. Just got another letter again refusing our warranty claim and will be appealing for a second time and asking for an outside source to evaluate their materials. Interestingly enough, just in case someone has the red...our neighbors had same appearance with near install date and replaced in full and they were told at that time the "dyes and pigments" were sourced from "less stable" sources causing their problem. Rep agreed that happened with the red, but not the blue. Seems odd. If you have the Pacific Blue and had a successful warranty claim would appreciate your suggestions.


123456Next >>