Siding Compare

Consumer Reviews of CertainTeed Vinyl Siding

#7  of 13 Vinyl Siding Brands

52% of Customers Recommend
3 of 5 stars 48 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
  • Somewhat Satisfied
  • Neutral
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
  • Very Unsatisfied

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to They do not necessarily represent the opinions of

Read more about CertainTeed vinyl siding

Read reviews of other Vinyl Siding brandsWrite a review

12345Next >>

Review Written: 2017-09-24

CertainTeed Review: "Warped, discolored, and chemical odor."

Name: W. Tatro
Location: Peabody, MA
Model: Monogram Ivy Green

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

We have had our siding on the house for about 15 years, but we noticed it starting to fade, warp, and smell on the south side of the house after 10 years. A contractor told us he has never seen siding look like ours, and suggested filing a claim since it's a lifetime warranty. The company was pleasant to talk to on the phone, but it took about 5 months to start really getting through to them. I had to send digital photos to them and the first time they were misplaced. I had to fill out the complaint form twice, because the first one was misplaced. They wanted me to send a 3 foot section of the damaged siding to them, but that would leave an unprotected area on the house since we have none to replace it with. I explained this to them on the phone. I asked if they could send a local representative to look at the damage, and also to smell the chemical odor. They said they only have 5 representatives in the country. I finally called the Better Business Bureau, and CertainTeed told them and us that the damage was caused by a reflection from a window, even though the entire side and half the front has at least discoloring to it, warping and fading in other areas. This is all done from the sunlight and nothing else. It's too bad that there are so many other people going through what we are, but it's a relief to know we are not alone and it's the product, not us. I have also read that there are representatives that can come to the house, so I'm not very hopeful our claim will be settled correctly.

Review Written: 2017-03-13

CertainTeed Review: "Certainteed Monogram Pacific Blue Double 5 warping"

Name: julie schmalz
Location: New Orleans
Model: Pacific Blue

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

As a 5 star Contractor through Certainteed I am very disappointed in their warranty. I have a customer that we installed Certainteed Monogram (their thickest panel) Pacific Blue Double 5 profile to his entire home. When the sunlight shines on the house all of the siding warps and buckles. They have denied the warranty claim stating that it is improper installation. I am Vinyl Siding Institute Certified along with the Certainteed 5 star contractor accreditation. This vinyl was installed correctly per vsi specs. I can see now from other posts that this is a common problem with this siding. Certainteed does not back up their warranty

Review Written: 2017-02-10

CertainTeed Review: "Melted and looks bad"

Name: Elizabeth D. Johnson

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Would not buy again. On home when I purchased it. New home. Denied my claim. Siding appears to melt and looks bad. Siding around two years old. In two places. Told me it was the sun projecting heat from window. I saw on internet a law suit has been filed against the company. If it can not take heat should not be used.

Review Written: 2017-01-15

CertainTeed Review: "Looking great after 12 years!"

Name: M. G.
Location: Chester Springs, PA
Model: Monogram

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

I have had Monogram Silver Ash siding on my house for 12 years now. The product looks great - still holding its color and looks as good as it did in year one. I saw a bit of mold had formed on the siding this year and cleaned it per the instructions in my warranty, and it looked so good I did the same thing at my entryway, too. Nice to see a great product last so long (like you would expect).

Review Written: 2016-09-20

CertainTeed Review: "Certain junk"

Name: P.S
Location: NY
Model: Monogram

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Stay away from the Certainteed Monogram siding. They do not honor the fade warranty and this junk will fade fade fade. Absolute junk. I went through the warranty process... Filled out forms, sent a sample, sent receipts etc. It was denied with a form letter, based on their testing of the sample. A horrible company to deal with. They will not honor the warranty stay away!

Review Written: 2016-09-19

CertainTeed Review: "Bubbles & Warps"

Name: Jared R
Location: Franklinville, NC

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

We had CertainTeed siding installed our new home in 2009. Very shortly after it was installed, we noticed that the siding started to bubble and warp on the warm side of the house. I contacted the company to file a warranty claim, but they just simply dismissed it as a "concentrated reflection from the sun and gutters" that caused intense heat. They didn't even come out to look at it! I will never use this brand again. They don't stand behind their products!

Review Written: 2016-08-06

CertainTeed Review: "Pacific Blue shiny and flat appearance"

Name: Chawn Gehr
Location: Williamsport, PA
Model: Pacific Blue

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Noticed soon after 2008 installation siding began developing spots as if it had a clear coat that was shiny in areas and flat in others. We thought it was dirty, so cleaned it regularly as per CertainTeed website instructions. Would appear better briefly but always returned, and has spread to all heights/sides/channel, etc.. Made warranty claim and when pulled/replaced required sample noticed significant fading. Denied claim based on fading, and did not even address the primary issue of the mottled/spotty appearance despite that claim noted the fading as only a secondary concern. Claim appealed and they sent out a rep. Very nice guy, but he worked for CertainTeeed and clearly has a vested interest in not approving a warranty claim. During his visit,he pointed out spots we had not even seen, and attributed them to staining. Efforts to have a real conversation about what could have possibly "stained" our home fell on deaf ears. He mentioned sometimes people "spray for hornets" or "use a chemical" and later forget. When directly asked how, if such a thing happened that we did not recall, didn't he think it was odd that it was affecting the ENTIRE house? No true response, just deflecting and vague statements about "staining", of course from no specific source. Just got another letter again refusing our warranty claim and will be appealing for a second time and asking for an outside source to evaluate their materials. Interestingly enough, just in case someone has the red...our neighbors had same appearance with near install date and replaced in full and they were told at that time the "dyes and pigments" were sourced from "less stable" sources causing their problem. Rep agreed that happened with the red, but not the blue. Seems odd. If you have the Pacific Blue and had a successful warranty claim would appreciate your suggestions.

Review Written: 2016-03-31

CertainTeed Review: "Don't believe colors will match if you order Monogram & Cedar Impressions in same color"

Name: Charles Gavoni
Location: Brant Rock, Ma
Model: Monogram & Cedar Impressions

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Purchased Monogram clapboard siding in "sterling grey" for front and back of house along with Cedar Impressions "sterling grey" staggered shakes for side of house. Huge difference in colors after job was up. Sales rep at Harvey industries, distributor, agreed after looking at samples. Certainteed Field rep agreed after looking at house. Samples and Pics sent to certainteed lab and their findings were everything met "their manufacturing specifications" They won't do a thing about this. I'm now in process of hiring a lawyer. Believe me, they do nothing but give excuses such as, "the light reflects differently off each product" or "the grain patterns are different" The fact is: their product ingredients are wrong for the particular product. They need to change the "recipe" or change the color names of each product. Don't trust this company without demanding an inspection of each product, not color chips, before purchasing it. And don't expect any customer satisfaction beyond a smiling face saying "Certainteed is a huge company who wants their customers happy" bs!

Review Written: 2016-01-20

CertainTeed Review: "Recent install"

Name: D. Joeright
Location: Seattle, WA
Model: Monogram 46

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Bought and had installed Monogram 46 horizontal vinyl siding by a local contractor. Had a few bad boards but overall I'm happy. Hopefully it will not need replacing anytime soon.

Review Written: 2015-07-23

CertainTeed Review: "Poor product"

Name: Kay
Location: Minnesota
Model: Cyprus

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

We built a new garage 2 years ago and all the siding looks warped or melted. Contacted Certain Teed they sent someone up to look at it which he drove in our yard turned around and left. He would not return our calls a few days later got a letter in the mail stating that it was not properly installed, how would he know he didn't check it! Buyer beware this company is crooks.

12345Next >>