Logo for SidingCompare.com

Consumer Reviews of CertainTeed vinyl siding


Popularity:
#6  of 12 brands of vinyl siding

60% of customers recommend
3.5 of 5 stars 38 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    18
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    5
  • Neutral
    2
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    12

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to SidingCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of SidingCompare.com.

Read more about CertainTeed vinyl siding

Read reviews of other Vinyl Siding brandsWrite a review

<< Previous1234Next >>

Date created: 2011-01-31 Location: Cortland, NY

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Dressing Up A Beautiful Home With Vinyl Siding"
I purchased Certainteed brand vinyl siding this past spring. I selected the Mainstreet line in a color of "sandstone beige" This summer I resided my home, which was built in 1823, and has been covered with ugly yellow-burnt orange fake-brick asphalt siding. I had an enjoyable conversation with my four year old twins about what we were doing to our home. I described the home as a "beautiful lady, who needs new clothes because her old ones are getting ragged and torn." They thought that was really funny, and liked to laugh about how the fan-fold I put on to go under the siding was the house's underwear. I have been so pleased with the way the house looks. I can't think of anything I dislike about this siding. It looks as if the old clapboard siding underneath has been restored to its former beauty. I get compliments constantly! I would definitely recommend this brand to anyone.


Date created: 2011-01-31 Location: Mechanicsburg, PA

Satisfaction Rating:

2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"Poor Quality, Good Price"
Approximately five years ago, I needed to replace the siding on the south side of my house, and couldn't afford an expensive brand of siding, so I chose Ashland Davis Dutch Lap Vinyl Siding. Although the price was about thirty percent lower than the average retail price of vinyl siding, had I the chance to re-do my decision, I probably would have opted for a more expensive siding of better quality. The initial appearance of the Ashland siding, although not superb, was not terrible either. However, within three years, the paint was significantly chipped, and it made my house look as though it were ten years older than it actually was or else had survived Hurricane Katrina in Louisiana by the appearance. I had to repaint the siding, which incurred a significant cost of money and time, both of which could have been avoided had I not been so stingy when picking a brand. I would not recommend this brand of siding unless you really don't mind a dingy appearance after the first couple years, or else enjoy repainting the exterior of your house on a regular basis.


Date created: 2011-01-24 Location: WAYNE, MAINE

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"NEEDS STRONGER MATERIAL"
When I was looking for vinyl siding I wanted a dark brown color. I ordered my choice from a different manufacturer than Cetainteed. After receiving the dark color siding I noticed by accident that with a fingernail the color could be scraped off. This would not hold up in Maine with all the sand and salt during winter months. I could not find a dark color in 2002 that didn't scrape off and settled on a lighter color- Certainteed Monogram D/4 rough cedar timber blend. The color is a neutral and I actually like the color, it has wood grain which looks very nice. It goes well with a dark brown garage door and dark green eaves. Most important is that the color does not come off, even since 2002. It has also stayed flat which sometimes vinyl siding buckles. I do wish the siding was a little thicker( I am not sure I had that option at the time).in 2009 after a very hard and icy winter I noticed 4 places where there was a hole in the siding. It could have been caused by ice falling off the roof or from something being thrown from the snowthrower, I don't know. I had extra siding and had it repaired. I would recommend this siding.


Date created: 2011-01-21 Location: Green Bay, WI

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"CertainTeed Vinyl Siding Review"
I have owed my vinyl siding for about 1 year. I chose to go with CertainTeed after a friend recommended it to me and showed it to me on his home which looked very nice. I went to the store and looked at a display piece they had and read the information about it. I chose vinyl siding because it was one of the least expensive siding options. I liked that I had many options to choose from this brand and it was very affordable. This siding is very easy to clean. I use a pressure washer and all the dirt comes right off. I have also washed parts with soap and water for a deeper clean in the hard to reach places and this worked great also. The siding has never broke or cracked so I never had to replace it. It is strong and durable. I have no complains about this brand and I would recommend it to everyone looking to buy vinyl siding.


Date created: 2011-01-06 Location: Zanesville, OH

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"CertainTeed CedarBoards Vinyl Siding - Great Choice!"
I've owned this siding for about 5 years now. I just recently bought a home and the siding needed to be replaced. I'm so glad I chose CedarBoards by CertainTeed! I love the wooden look to this vinyl siding. It not only looks great, but is also very effective! We've been much warmer and have saved money heating our house during the winter - the siding is like a big blanket for our home! I would definitely buy this brand again and I recommend it to anyone needing replacement siding.


Date created: 2011-01-06 Location: Pittsburgh, PA

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"The best siding i ever owned CertainTeed real quality siding"
I have owned this siding little over a year now we first got it because of all the great things we've heard about it from our neighboors. The best thing I like about CertainTeed siding is the durability we have cold winters up here and hot summers I had problems in the bast with my old siding but CertainTeed siding hold s up where my other siding did not. My only dislike is that I didnt decide to go CertainTeed sooner than I did. I never had to do anything to it, I was it occassionally just because im a neat freak however it dont seem to get as dirty as fast as the other siding I once had,must be the quality they use in the materials. After I got my siding installed i suggested to a buddy of mine to do the same he agreed and still thanks me to this day, I personally would recommend CertainTeed siding to anyone who wants GREAT quality at a good price.It truly is the best and I know I will be a LIFELONG CertainTeed customer.


Date created: 2011-01-03 Name: Christine
Location: Wanaque, NJ

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Monogram"
Very good siding...stays straight...locks tighty with other pieces and the color has not faded at all


Date created: 2011-01-03 Location: Slippery Rock, PA

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"vinyl siding"
I replaced my vinyl sidings about two years ago because my siding was old and torn up. since ive replaced them, they have been holding up fine and dont plan on replacing them for another 50 years. I like the pricing of the siding, it didnt cost a fortune. I also like the color and how it goes nicely with my house. one thing i dont like about them is the get stained and it hard to wash them and off, also it from the side it looks fairly tacky. I have never had to make any kind of repair to them since i have bought them. if i was going to put new vinyl up on a house i was going to rent out i would use certainteed. Also I would recommend this brand to a friend. CertainTeed would be the way to go for anyone looking to put up new siding for a fair price.


Date created: 2011-01-03 Location: Minneapolis, MN

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"The Siding That Cracks When You Look At It Wrong"
I have had my siding since we moved in to our house, so it has been on our house for three years now. It looked great at first, and then we had a hail storm which then made our house look like a holy mess. We have never had to replace it due to the fact that we live in a town home, but they certainly took their time in doing so. I would never recommend this to a friend of mine, it is really the cheaper route to go if you are looking at costs, but you get what you pay for. The only good thing about this siding is that it does come in a lot of different colors and styles, so if you are in the market to really make your house unique you can do this with this type of siding. If I had my choice I would definitely go with something that is going to last in the long run.


Date created: 2011-01-03 Location: Brick nj

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Vinyl Siding and me"
It creates very straight walls and offers high impact resistance, which is important to me it is also insulated which is good for saving energy and that is good for the environment as well all and all its a great product that i am happy to have.

<< Previous1234Next >>