Siding Compare

Consumer Reviews of CertainTeed Vinyl Siding


Popularity:
#6  of 12 Vinyl Siding Brands

57% of Customers Recommend
3.5 of 5 stars 42 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    18
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    6
  • Neutral
    2
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    15

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to SidingCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of SidingCompare.com.

Read more about CertainTeed vinyl siding

Read reviews of other Vinyl Siding brandsWrite a review

<< Previous12345Next >>

Review Written: 2011-04-29

CertainTeed Review: "Vinyl Siding: The State of My Home"

Location: Miami, Fl

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

I have lived in a home with CertainTeed Cedar Impressions Straight Edge Perfection Shingles for just under 4 years, and am thoroughly impressed. The appearance of the shingles is what drew me to the product initially. I live in an area of high humidity in which mildew can be a problem. That being said, I have only had to pressure wash my siding about once a year. This can be compared to my neighbors who must pressure wash three times a year. I had repairs performed to the siding after a hurricane came through my area, and it went well. The contractors installed the siding fairly easily and it looked as though my home had never been damaged. I would certainly recommend this product to a friend. It is durable, easy to maintain, and looks great. I like the way my house looks when I pull into my driveway after work. I'm certainly pleased with the product and glad I spent the extra funds to get a house with this siding.


Review Written: 2011-03-10

CertainTeed Review: "My Experience With CedarBoard Vinyl Siding"

Location: Johnstown, PA

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

I purchased and installed this siding last summer and its endured the hot summer and this cold, brutal winter so far and has done so like a champ! I've had no issues with it, it looks fine, and I haven't had to make any adjustments or repairs. I just had to install it and that was it. Installation was a little difficult and took a little longer than the instructions claimed, but I dealt with that. Other than that, this siding has looked great on my home. Even my wife loves it, and I've already recommended it to a few friends.



Review Written: 2011-02-22

CertainTeed Review: "Cedar Impressions Love It"

Location: Boston, MA

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

I have had this siding for about 3 years now. It is great. I live in Boston so the weather has been pretty varied and it has stood up to everything. The textured look is great and the color stays incredibly. Besides small areas, it looks like new. The one thing i do not like wasnt really a fault of the company i guess. I could not find an exact match to the color i wanted. It was no big deal though because i just painted the accents of the rest of the house to match and it came out fine. I have had to repair a portion of it once but that was from ball damage, as my neighbor's kids throw around the baseball and our houses are pretty close to one another. The reapir was easy they just replaced a couple slots and it was about 2 years after we installed it. I would defintely recommend this to a friend as well as buy it again when needs to be replaced.


Review Written: 2011-01-31

CertainTeed Review: "this isnt a bad brand"

Location: allentown pa

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

I owned my vinyl siding for a little over four and a half years. I like the fact that it comes in many colors. It is easy to clean and maintain. It makes my house look more inviting. I feel it really makes my house more of a home. The only thing I don't like is that they can crack and fade over time. I haven't had to repair anything yet but some friends of mine did and it is not the cheapest thing to do. I'm really not sure if I would buy this product again I would defiantly want to search the market to see what is out there. As far as a friend I would also tell them to check out what is on the market. I would tell them about my experience with my vinyl siding so they could find the product that fits their needs best.


Review Written: 2011-01-31

CertainTeed Review: "Dressing Up A Beautiful Home With Vinyl Siding"

Location: Cortland, NY

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

I purchased Certainteed brand vinyl siding this past spring. I selected the Mainstreet line in a color of "sandstone beige" This summer I resided my home, which was built in 1823, and has been covered with ugly yellow-burnt orange fake-brick asphalt siding. I had an enjoyable conversation with my four year old twins about what we were doing to our home. I described the home as a "beautiful lady, who needs new clothes because her old ones are getting ragged and torn." They thought that was really funny, and liked to laugh about how the fan-fold I put on to go under the siding was the house's underwear. I have been so pleased with the way the house looks. I can't think of anything I dislike about this siding. It looks as if the old clapboard siding underneath has been restored to its former beauty. I get compliments constantly! I would definitely recommend this brand to anyone.


Review Written: 2011-01-31

CertainTeed Review: "Poor Quality, Good Price"

Location: Mechanicsburg, PA

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Approximately five years ago, I needed to replace the siding on the south side of my house, and couldn't afford an expensive brand of siding, so I chose Ashland Davis Dutch Lap Vinyl Siding. Although the price was about thirty percent lower than the average retail price of vinyl siding, had I the chance to re-do my decision, I probably would have opted for a more expensive siding of better quality. The initial appearance of the Ashland siding, although not superb, was not terrible either. However, within three years, the paint was significantly chipped, and it made my house look as though it were ten years older than it actually was or else had survived Hurricane Katrina in Louisiana by the appearance. I had to repaint the siding, which incurred a significant cost of money and time, both of which could have been avoided had I not been so stingy when picking a brand. I would not recommend this brand of siding unless you really don't mind a dingy appearance after the first couple years, or else enjoy repainting the exterior of your house on a regular basis.


Review Written: 2011-01-24

CertainTeed Review: "NEEDS STRONGER MATERIAL"

Location: WAYNE, MAINE

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

When I was looking for vinyl siding I wanted a dark brown color. I ordered my choice from a different manufacturer than Cetainteed. After receiving the dark color siding I noticed by accident that with a fingernail the color could be scraped off. This would not hold up in Maine with all the sand and salt during winter months. I could not find a dark color in 2002 that didn't scrape off and settled on a lighter color- Certainteed Monogram D/4 rough cedar timber blend. The color is a neutral and I actually like the color, it has wood grain which looks very nice. It goes well with a dark brown garage door and dark green eaves. Most important is that the color does not come off, even since 2002. It has also stayed flat which sometimes vinyl siding buckles. I do wish the siding was a little thicker( I am not sure I had that option at the time).in 2009 after a very hard and icy winter I noticed 4 places where there was a hole in the siding. It could have been caused by ice falling off the roof or from something being thrown from the snowthrower, I don't know. I had extra siding and had it repaired. I would recommend this siding.


Review Written: 2011-01-21

CertainTeed Review: "CertainTeed Vinyl Siding Review"

Location: Green Bay, WI

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

I have owed my vinyl siding for about 1 year. I chose to go with CertainTeed after a friend recommended it to me and showed it to me on his home which looked very nice. I went to the store and looked at a display piece they had and read the information about it. I chose vinyl siding because it was one of the least expensive siding options. I liked that I had many options to choose from this brand and it was very affordable. This siding is very easy to clean. I use a pressure washer and all the dirt comes right off. I have also washed parts with soap and water for a deeper clean in the hard to reach places and this worked great also. The siding has never broke or cracked so I never had to replace it. It is strong and durable. I have no complains about this brand and I would recommend it to everyone looking to buy vinyl siding.


Review Written: 2011-01-06

CertainTeed Review: "CertainTeed CedarBoards Vinyl Siding - Great Choice!"

Location: Zanesville, OH

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

I've owned this siding for about 5 years now. I just recently bought a home and the siding needed to be replaced. I'm so glad I chose CedarBoards by CertainTeed! I love the wooden look to this vinyl siding. It not only looks great, but is also very effective! We've been much warmer and have saved money heating our house during the winter - the siding is like a big blanket for our home! I would definitely buy this brand again and I recommend it to anyone needing replacement siding.


Review Written: 2011-01-06

CertainTeed Review: "The best siding i ever owned CertainTeed real quality siding"

Location: Pittsburgh, PA

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

I have owned this siding little over a year now we first got it because of all the great things we've heard about it from our neighboors. The best thing I like about CertainTeed siding is the durability we have cold winters up here and hot summers I had problems in the bast with my old siding but CertainTeed siding hold s up where my other siding did not. My only dislike is that I didnt decide to go CertainTeed sooner than I did. I never had to do anything to it, I was it occassionally just because im a neat freak however it dont seem to get as dirty as fast as the other siding I once had,must be the quality they use in the materials. After I got my siding installed i suggested to a buddy of mine to do the same he agreed and still thanks me to this day, I personally would recommend CertainTeed siding to anyone who wants GREAT quality at a good price.It truly is the best and I know I will be a LIFELONG CertainTeed customer.


<< Previous12345Next >>