Logo for SidingCompare.com

Consumer Reviews of CertainTeed vinyl siding


Popularity:
#12  of 24 brands of vinyl siding

74% of customers recommend
4 of 5 stars 31 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    18
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    5
  • Neutral
    2
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    5

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to SidingCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of SidingCompare.com.

Read more about CertainTeed vinyl siding

Read reviews of other Vinyl Siding brandsWrite a review

<< Previous1234Next >>

Date created: 2011-01-03 Location: Slippery Rock, PA

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"vinyl siding"
I replaced my vinyl sidings about two years ago because my siding was old and torn up. since ive replaced them, they have been holding up fine and dont plan on replacing them for another 50 years. I like the pricing of the siding, it didnt cost a fortune. I also like the color and how it goes nicely with my house. one thing i dont like about them is the get stained and it hard to wash them and off, also it from the side it looks fairly tacky. I have never had to make any kind of repair to them since i have bought them. if i was going to put new vinyl up on a house i was going to rent out i would use certainteed. Also I would recommend this brand to a friend. CertainTeed would be the way to go for anyone looking to put up new siding for a fair price.


Date created: 2011-01-03 Location: Minneapolis, MN

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"The Siding That Cracks When You Look At It Wrong"
I have had my siding since we moved in to our house, so it has been on our house for three years now. It looked great at first, and then we had a hail storm which then made our house look like a holy mess. We have never had to replace it due to the fact that we live in a town home, but they certainly took their time in doing so. I would never recommend this to a friend of mine, it is really the cheaper route to go if you are looking at costs, but you get what you pay for. The only good thing about this siding is that it does come in a lot of different colors and styles, so if you are in the market to really make your house unique you can do this with this type of siding. If I had my choice I would definitely go with something that is going to last in the long run.


Date created: 2011-01-03 Location: Brick nj

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Vinyl Siding and me"
It creates very straight walls and offers high impact resistance, which is important to me it is also insulated which is good for saving energy and that is good for the environment as well all and all its a great product that i am happy to have.


Date created: 2011-01-03 Location: Charlotte, NC

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"Vinyl in the Wind"
I bought a brand new house five years ago and much to my surprise the entire was covered with vinyl siding. I knew what I signed up for in a sense but didn't really know. The experience has been all good with the only bad being the installation crew, just an experience to say the least. Be sure to get a qualified installer. As for the look, I love it and for the most part because it gives you the illusion of painted wood until you get close to it or come home from work a see certain parts of it flapping in the wind because of the tiny nails are not holding up. I guess in my area of the country having vinyl to protect you from the elements is okay but there's no way I could refer this product to my friends in south florida due to the heavy storms. Never had to replace any just had to have a couple nails replace to to retain the look. I don't think the brands really matter because they all serve the same purpose, so if decided to buy another house I probably would use the same company or brand.


Date created: 2011-01-01 Name: Corey And Laird Bean
Location: Foest Hill, Maryland

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Quality siding"
I'm a contractor (husband speaking)that has installed Certain Teed siding as well as many others. Certain Teed far outshines all others in terms of quality, durability, and ease of instalation. I would use this brand again. Sincerely, Laird Bean


Date created: 2011-01-01 Name: Robert Roche
Location: Erie, PA.

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Mr"
Looks unique & beautiful.Lays great. Would buy again


Date created: 2010-12-03 Location: Morrisville, PA

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"The natural look of cedar with the ease of vinyl"
Six months ago, we replaced our exterior siding with Cedar Impressions Double 7" Straight Edge Rough-Split Shakes from CertainTeed, in the Barn Red shade. This siding is intended to replicate the natural, slightly uneven look of cedar siding, but is much easier to clean and maintain because it's really made out of vinyl. I also think that the wood look makes our home looks homey and charming, without being so rough on the outside as to look dilapidated or in disrepair. We love the look, and love that we can powerwash the siding when it needs cleaning without having to worry about wood sealants or stains. We also will never have to worry about chipping paint! We're completely happy with this siding. I suppose if I had to pick a negative- and it's a small one- I would cite the price, which was slightly higher than we had hoped to pay for our siding. However, we're so thrilled with the final visual result that we feel the small extra expense was well worth it. I would thoroughly recommend CertainTeed siding to friends, family, and acquaintances. It's so nice to know that we'll never come home from vacation to find chipping paint or chipped wood on the outside of our beautiful home. To that end, we've never had to have repairs done on the siding. We hire a local firm to power-wash the outside of our home once per year, which is all the maintenance that seems to be necessary. This siding is designed to withstand high winds up to hurricane force, so we're not anticipating a problem with the power-washing equipment.


Date created: 2010-12-03 Location: Buffalo, NY

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Attractive, Durable Siding"
I have off white siding by CertainTeed on the front portion of my house and I could not be happier with this product. I will definitely be recommending it to my friends and using it again myself. The only thing I don't like about the siding is the cost. It was a bit more expensive than other brands that I considered, but I think this is worth the durability and appearance that I like in the siding. I have a medium green siding and am surprised that after three years it has not bleached at all. This siding is obviously colored with top of the line dyes. It also has not needed any repairs, to my surprise. I grew up in a house with siding and remember my father replacing a panel or two per year. This does not seem to be the case with this stuff. It has a five year warranty and I'm sure it will look great for years to come.


Date created: 2010-12-03 Location: Derry, NH

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Certainteed Vinyl siding"
I have had this siding for five years now. I do like the color and it seems durable. The texture seems nice on the home that we have and my husband and I do not have to worry about anything such as weather or dirt or anything to damage it easily. We had a terrible ice storm two years ago where many of our neighbors experienced much damage and nothing happened to the siding which we were very pleased with. During the spring or fall we usually clean the house with a pressure washer and I have heard from some people that the paint fades or chips away and that has not happened to us. I like how easy it is to clean with a pressure washer. There is not really anything I do not like about it. I never needed to repair or replace it. I would definately buy it again and recommend it to a friend.


Date created: 2010-12-03 Location: Rockford, IL

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Fantastic Siding"
We've head this vinyl siding for about two years now, we got it to replace the wood siding that was falling off. We wanted something that would still look like wood, without the problems that come along with wood from environment, animals, ect. We decided to go with CertainTeed vinyl after a friend recommended it, and have not had any problems with it, and it looks really nice. It was a really good price as well, and applying it was super fast. We had to hire someone to do it but they were happy to do vinyl because of the simplicity of it. Also, vinyl is stronger than wood and should last a lot longer than our wood siding did. I would very highly recommend Certain Teed siding if you're looking for a wood look, or even if you just want to replace your stucco or any other siding. Vinyl is my first choice.

<< Previous1234Next >>