Siding Compare

Consumer Reviews of CertainTeed Cement Siding


Popularity:
#3  of 5 Cement Siding Brands

66% of Customers Recommend
3.5 of 5 stars 27 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    14
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    4
  • Neutral
    2
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    0
  • Very Unsatisfied
    7

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to SidingCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of SidingCompare.com.

Read more about CertainTeed cement siding

Read reviews of other Cement Siding brandsWrite a review

123Next >>

Review Written: 2021-10-30

CertainTeed Review: "Unhappy customer"

Name: S Nolen
Location: Chicago

Cement Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

I had my entire home done with Certainteed. Within a few years it was cracked, warping and rotting off. I filed the requested documents and waited. And waited. Then I emailed them. 18 times. They kept responding "it takes a long time for class action suits". I finally threatened legal action and they gave me a phone number to call. That individual smugly told me I hadn't submitted the paperwork properly and promised to mail me the correct way to do it. I waited... Nothing ever came. So I resubmitted everything he'd told me on the phone and was told it was too late. I'm going to take them to court.


Review Written: 2017-01-27

CertainTeed Review: "Bad!"

Name: T Granger
Location: Illinois

Cement Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Put it on new house in 2006. Within 2 years had over 30 cracks with several spots of paint scaling. Our contractor contacted them about our warranty. They sent out a gentleman who immediately blamed it on faulty installation. When asked about the warranty, they said they would "replace the siding" - which meant they would dump a load of the siding on the lawn and leave it to us to pay for removal and installation. Will never use this company again!



Review Written: 2015-03-31

CertainTeed Review: "Don't but Certainteed fiber cement siding!"

Name: A.S.
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Model: Fiber Cement

Cement Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

We had our whole house re-sided with Certainteed fiber cement siding. Within 2 years it started cracking everywhere. They denied our claim, blaming it on faulty installation. It turned out there is a class action lawsuit because of their faulty product. The amount of time it takes to fill out the submission is high. My entire house will soon need to be re-sided and the lawsuit won't pay for much of it at all. I will never buy this product again!


Review Written: 2013-10-23

CertainTeed Review: "Worthless Product"

Name: J. Lowry
Location: Hermiston, OR

Cement Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

New construction house with Certainteed siding installed. Siding is cracking, warping, and breaking. The company will not stand by it's product. My advice, stay away from this company!


Review Written: 2013-07-05

CertainTeed Review: "Siding is Shrinking"

Name: Brian Wellnitz
Location: Grafton, WI

Cement Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

We installed Certainteed Weather board about 4-1/2 years ago. I started noticing gaps in between some of the boards 2 years ago but did not give it much thought. I know have large gaps (1/4") between most panels on all sides of the house. I guess I am lucky since done of the panels have fallen off but my contractor has said this is only a matter of time. I am contacting Certainteed to get this resolved. I Hope.


Review Written: 2012-09-10

CertainTeed Review: "Worst ever"

Name: Frank Middlestone
Location: CA

Cement Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Glad other folks haven't experienced many problems, because if they did CertainTeed won't back it up. Professionaly installed and deteriorating, peeling and cracking after 2 years. CertainTeed blames outside influences (not installation) and won't cover it. Don't believe the hype of their warranty!!!


Review Written: 2012-07-06

CertainTeed Review: "Cracking is a problem"

Name: S. Hub
Location: Michigan

Cement Siding Satisfaction Rating:
3 of 5 stars Neutral

We've had issues with cracking as soon as one year after installation on a new house; sometimes around windows, sometimes right in the middle of the board. I'm pretty sure our contractor did it right but given how brittle this stuff is, I'm not sure I would use it again. So far to repair it we've been nailing on both sides of the crack and caulking the crack itself. Like I said, it may be an installation issue, but if it is, it sounds like this stuff is so unforgiving that the very smallest of mistakes will cause big problems later on. Every spring its the same, a few new cracks.


Review Written: 2011-06-02

CertainTeed Review: "Very good cement siding from certainteed"

Location: River Falls, WI
Model: ColorMax

Cement Siding Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

I have owned my cement siding from CertainTeed for about 2 years now. So far it has been very good and I liked that it was very durable and wears really well over time. Since I have had it, it still looks almost like it did the day that I bought it. Another thing that I like about this siding was that it was really cheap compared to some competitors. One thing that I have to say that I didn't like was that it was hard to get it on my house, and it took a long time, but that is what happens some times. Since I have owned this cement siding I have not had to repair it or replace it. I would definitely buy this product again, and I would also recommend this to anyone that I know. Overall CertainTeed has been a really good company to work with and it has some great cement siding.


Review Written: 2011-05-28

CertainTeed Review: "Cement Board Siding"

Location: Spring Green, WI

Cement Siding Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

I just recently built a new home about one year ago. I chose CertainTeed fiber cement board siding due to the durability, low maintenance, and appearance. It has met all the standards that I expected for my siding on my new home. It is a little more costly than regular vinyl siding but well worth the extra cost. I have not had to do any repairs on it thus far even after a large hail storm that came through our area. I would buy this brand again as I get lots of wonderful comments about how beautiful the siding is from my friends and relatives not to mention the durability, and low maintenance that comes with it. I would definitely recommend this type of siding to any of my friends who are building or remodleing a home. It also comes in a variety of prefinished colors, and textures. If you are interested in building or remodeling I would look into purchasing CertainTeed fiber cement board siding for your project.


Review Written: 2011-05-28

CertainTeed Review: "WeatherBoards™ Textured Dutchlap Review"

Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Model: Weather Board

Cement Siding Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

I've owned this siding for over 5 years now and I cannot say I've ever been disappointed. Not only does it look nice but this siding is durable. My sons play paintball in my backyard all the time and they once hit my siding. The siding was strong enough to withstand the impact but it was also extremely easy to clean up too. The only problem I've had with this siding is that after the paintball incident, there were small scuff marks where the paintballs hit. However, this is only expected so I wasn't too discouraged. I've never had any types of major problems with this siding, and I would recommend it to anyone who is in need of new siding. If there happens to be a problem, WeatherBoards also has a 50 year warranty on its siding. If you're looking for quality and durability then I would say to go with this siding.



Review Written: 2011-05-14

CertainTeed Review: "cement siding on home"

Location: Columbus, Georgia

Cement Siding Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

The cement siding on my house was put on almost a decade ago. This is probably the most popular brand for that reason though. I have had friends tell me through out the years how much they like their Certainteed siding, and by far it is the thing I like about it most- it's reputation. I have not replaced it yet and by the looks of it, I should be good for another 5 years! I would recommend this brand to anyone who asked! Overall the Certainteed siding on my house has gotten more compliments than my yard, which is outstandings too!


Review Written: 2011-05-06

CertainTeed Review: "A Personal reveiew of Cement Siding from a Homeowner"

Location: Converse, LA

Cement Siding Satisfaction Rating:
4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

I have had cement siding on my 3 bedroom one story woodframe house for 15 years. I must admit that a have been extremely satisfied i didnt expect i would keep it this long. I decidied to go woth Certainteed brand prefinished 7" random square staggered edge. It came ready to put up and no need for painting. I ordered the ten color however it began to fade a little after ten years and i decided to paint it the same color. I painted it after haveing it matced up and it looks brand new again. It seems to protect and insulate the wood on my house better that other types of siding. after installing it I also noticed a drop in my cooling and heating costs for my home due tot he insulating properties. As a homeowner I am very satisfied with cement siding as opposed to other types.My only complaint with cement siding is of you accidentally hit your house say with a heavy ladder or something it will crack and you must patch it. Its more brittle than other types of siding however it has satisfied me overall alot more than any other type. I reccomend cement siding to any homeowner that is considering siding Thank you certainteed from a very satisfied customer

123Next >>