Siding Compare

Consumer Reviews of GAF Cement Siding


Popularity:
#1  of 5 Cement Siding Brands

77% of Customers Recommend
4 of 5 stars 9 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    6
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    1
  • Neutral
    0
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    2
  • Very Unsatisfied
    0

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to SidingCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of SidingCompare.com.

Read reviews of other Cement Siding brandsWrite a review


Review Written: 2011-06-23

GAF Review: "My Expirences with Gaf Materials Cemet Siding"

Location: Eagan, Minnesota
Model: Straight Fiber Cement

Cement Siding Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

I've owned this siding for five years. It's on the side of my wife's "Crafts Shack" in the back of our yard where she'll work on art projects either by herself or with a group of her friends. I like that it was fairly cheap and I feel that we've gotten a good value from it. It hasn't leaked and I haven't need to repair it at all. It doesn't easily scratch and the open marks from it are when a neighborhood kid accidentally ran into it with his dirtbike and left a huge scuff mark that I haven't been able to get rid of, so I had to paint over it. In the future I would buy from Gaf Materials again and I would recommend it to a friend. My wife liked that it could be painted over, and she'll done this multiple times. In the future she wants to expand the shack so that means I'll be buying more from Gaf.


Review Written: 2011-06-02

GAF Review: "Straight Fiber Cement Siding"

Location: Brooklyn, NY
Model: 2213000WG

Cement Siding Satisfaction Rating:
2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

I installed Straight Fiber Cement Siding by GAF Materials last summer with the help of my neighbor and I've been very happy with both the look of the material, and the overall quality. The siding was a bit of a chore to install and kind of expensive, but the final product was worth the extra effort and expense. The color and texture look amazing when mounted on a hard surface- these pieces of siding fit together perfectly to create a uniform, professional looking surface. One big plus is that they're also fire and water proof which adds a comfort element to this product as well.



Review Written: 2011-05-18

GAF Review: "Cement Siding - Value beyond comparison"

Location: Westchester, NY
Model: Straight Fiber Cement Siding

Cement Siding Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

I own a summer house in Manzanillo Mexico that I go to with my family twice a year. I had the house built from scratch in 2007 and the cement siding has proven extremely sturdy, weatherproof, attractive and congruent with the style of architecture. I love my GAF siding because its cheap and extremely sturdy and would most definitely recommend it to anyone who wants to build a house in mexico. I've ran into zero problems with it and do not have anything gripes with the product.


Review Written: 2011-05-14

GAF Review: "Straight Fiber Cement Siding"

Location: Gilbert, WV
Model: 2213000WG

Cement Siding Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

This is my review of the straight fiber cement siding from GAF materials that have on my house. I have had the straight fiber cement siding for a little over a year now. I love how the siding won't dent, shrink, warp, rot, or expand. The siding I had on my house before started to rot and would get dirty really easy where I live close to the road. But now that have this cement siding you can't even tell that it get dirty what so ever. My neighbors had a house fire so my husband had to stand outside and spray are plastic siding of with the water house so it wouldn't melt. But know we don't have to worry about it melting because are cement siding is fire proof. Another thing I love about our cement siding is how durable it is. The cement siding holds up through all the storms we had last spring and we had some pretty bad storms. We haven't had any trouble what so ever with our fiber cement siding no repairs or replacements have been made so far. I would defiantly buy the same brand again actually I'm getting ready to remodel my mothers house and replace her old siding with this brand of cement siding. So yes I would recommend this cement siding to a friend.


Review Written: 2011-05-14

GAF Review: "Straight Fiber Cement Siding"

Location: Seattle, WA

Cement Siding Satisfaction Rating:
4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

I have had my cement siding on my home for approximately three years now. It protects my home well against the elements as I live in Seattle. I have gotten quite a lot of comments on how well it looks against my house. The only thing I don't like about my siding is that corners will occasionally chip off. This is rare, however. It really only happens when my son hits the side of the house with his baseball or other toys. In the three years I've owned it, I've never had to replace it. I did do a minor repair on one of the chipped corners. It was simple enough to find a replacement tile and install it myself. I would recommend it to a friend, it has served me fairly well over the years.


Review Written: 2011-05-02

GAF Review: "It may be ugly, but it does the job."

Location: Tish MS

Cement Siding Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

About a month and a half ago, my fiance and I decided we needed to build a storage extension for our home. Our home is made primarily of wood, but we wanted our storage space to be a bit sturdier- it has a basement section and serves as a storm shelter. Instead of wood, we opted for cement siding. A neighbor of ours works in the construction field and recommended the GAF Materials brand and hooked us up with a company that provided the siding for wholesale prices. We built the shed and had the paneling installed. It's really quite hard for me to find anything wrong with this siding. It's strong and durable- we get rain like crazy out here and we haven't seen any signs of water damage. The temperatures make the wood in our house expand and retract constantly, but the cement siding holds its own. We've had it a little over a month and we love it. My only qualm- it's ugly as sin. Cement siding always makes your home or shed look like a prison. But we didn't buy it for style, we bought it for performance, and this stuff is great. I'd definitely recommend it.


Review Written: 2011-03-24

GAF Review: "Cement Siding Improved My Home"

Location: Seattle, WA
Model: 221400WG

Cement Siding Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

About two years ago I decided yo undertake some extensive renovations on the exterior of my house which has been in need of a facelift for a while. After debating which material I would use for the sides of the property I opted for cement siding which in my opinion offers good insulation, fire proof resistance and virtually no maintenance required. After shopping around I decided to go for a product which was a bit more decorative with the hopes of springing some life into the house which would eventually inspire a suitable front lawn and garden. Since the initial installation of the siding I've yet to have any repairs or replacement of any of the panels. I beleive this is the result of their natural reliability and weather resistance to the elements especially where I live where we are subjected to all seasons from bitter cold winters to hot mercury breaking summers. Since I have friends who are coincidentally under going similar renovations I've recommended the same product to them. My neighbors decided to use the exact same product because of the quanitity recieved for such little money. Now all the houses on the block are fashioning similar exterior siding.


Review Written: 2011-03-17

GAF Review: "Difficult to Keep Clean and Lacks in Durability"

Location: Olean, NY
Model: 2213000WG - Fiber Cement Siding

Cement Siding Satisfaction Rating:
2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

I was searching for a new look for my home, and even though I do like the looks of vinyl siding, I decided to try out cement siding due to a suggestion from the contractor. I purchased fiber cement siding from a local home improvement store. The brand is GAF and although it was a little pricey, I figured you get what you pay for. I had this siding installed approximately 6 months ago. It looks very good on my home, but it is fairly brittle and seems to chip easily. My driveway is perpendicular to my home and what I pull out of my driveway, the tires tend to throw stones toward my house. I could be more careful to prevent this from happening, but the description says these shingles are rugged and can withstand a little abuse. It doesn't seem that this is accurate at all, as I have already had to replace 5 tiles in the last 6 months. The the siding is very easy to replace, but I just feel that the durability is lacking. The price is not too bad, but I could definitely find something that I like for less. This siding is also extremely difficult to keep clean. The porous surface hold dirt in very well and standard pressure from the hose does not seem to handle it. To clean it, I am forced to use a power sprayer. I am not entirely sure that I would buy this product again in the future, although I would not completely rule out buying something else from the same company. I would not recommend this product to friends or family.


Review Written: 2011-01-10

GAF Review: "A Better Way To Do Siding"

Location: Pensacola, FL

Cement Siding Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

We've had GAF cement siding on our house for about 7 years now and to be honest, the product still looks like it is one week old. One of the reasons I like this type of siding so much is the durability. Since it's got cement as the main product, it is very strong and can withstand the elements. Another upside to the GAF cement instead of the wood siding is that it makes the product termite resistant. In most places in the United States, termites can cause major damage to a home if gone unchecked. If you've ever worked with concrete, you'd know that a downside to this material is that it is very heavy and cumbersome to work with, if you're doing the installation yourself. I've had to make some minor repairs to my siding due to a fierce windstorm that knocked a large tree branch into the side of my home. The repair was easy because the material cuts with a standard carbide tipped blade and can be screwed in rather easily with some three inch screws and a battery powered drill. I'd definitely recommend the GAF brand of cement siding to a friend.