Siding Compare

Consumer Reviews of Alside Metal Siding


Popularity:
#6  of 6 Metal Siding Brands

6% of Customers Recommend
1.5 of 5 stars 15 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    0
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    1
  • Neutral
    0
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    2
  • Very Unsatisfied
    12

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to SidingCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of SidingCompare.com.

Read more about Alside metal siding

Read reviews of other Metal Siding brandsWrite a review

12Next >>

Review Written: 2020-05-23

Alside Review: "Do not stand by their product"

Name: S Peterson
Location: Star Prairie, WI

Metal Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Our siding has shavings or something beneath the paint. As they come off, there is nothing to keep the siding from rusting. Alside would not do anything about it.


Review Written: 2020-05-04

Alside Review: "Excellent installation job but product is junk"

Name: Dave B.
Location: Garrettsville, Ohio
Model: Satinwood

Metal Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Had vinyl coated steel siding installed in mid 90's by contractor. Excellent installation job but product is junk. Vinyl coating started peeling off within 2 years, first on ancillary items like flashing & J-channel, then the siding itself. Rate of peel-off is directly related to angle of sunlight hitting the surface. After all these years, most all vinyl has peeled off 3 sides of building. Galvanized coating on steel has held up however, so no rust. Warranty on manufacturer's website is total B.S. Not worth the time to even pursue a claim. I would never do business with this company again.



Review Written: 2017-11-19

Alside Review: "Siding sucks"

Name: Sheila
Location: Wisconsin
Model: Satinwood

Metal Siding Satisfaction Rating:
2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Alside installed in 2000. Started peeling, file claim (check out the class action lawsuit), provide info they want, they ask for more info, give more... seems they want you to give up. Hounded them, finally got our walls replaced... they no longer could match siding. It took 2 years to get job done from once filed claimed. Don't give up. They knew they had an inferior product and continued to sell it. That is why they lost the class action lawsuit against them.


Review Written: 2015-01-30

Alside Review: "Do not even think about it"

Name: S. Johnson
Location: North Dakota
Model: Steel

Metal Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Alside steel siding was purchased 20 years ago. All of the paint fell off. We have provided legal documents stating ownership of property, 30 plus photos, sample of the siding and even the box. The company agrees it is their siding but refuse to reimburse the consumer for the inferior product. We have provided everything necessary time and time again. They are working very hard with their attorneys to avoid paying out for an inferior product. The consumer is being taken advantage of and I feel other consumers should be aware of the problem.


Review Written: 2015-01-06

Alside Review: "Rusting. Warranty rejected."

Name: Don Buker
Location: New Hope, MN
Model: Steel Siding

Metal Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Alside steel siding was installed about 7 years ago on our house and garage. Bottom row of siding is rusting on two sides of the garage. Alside rejected my warranty request. After 3 months of calling and waiting for a response we received a letter saying this was not covered under the warranty. No other explanation. Called again after receiving the letter and they said it was not covered because we live in Minnesota and the salt used on the roads in the winter gets tracked into the garage (and then I assume it must soak through the walls onto the steel siding). As others have stated Alside just makes up reasons to not honor their warranty. Prior to this we had steel siding from another manufacturer for about 20 years and never had any rust problems. The only reason it was replaced was due to hail damage. If indeed the reason they gave for not honoring the warranty is true (which I think we all know its not) then they obviously should not sell their siding in Minnesota.


Review Written: 2013-10-12

Alside Review: "Alside steel siding"

Name: Sharon Edwards
Location: Freeport, IL

Metal Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

I too have Alside siding and the coating is peeling. After reading the other reviews it looks like they sure don't stand behind their product. I would never recommend it to anyone. It is pretty much the whole house that is peeling.


Review Written: 2012-06-30

Alside Review: "Company refuses to repair peeling siding"

Name: Jan
Location: Clark County, Washington
Model: Super Steel Siding

Metal Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

This product was installed on an attic remodel bump-out. Earlier this spring a large piece of the color coating peeled away. Other areas of the siding are blistering; the color coating is obviously detaching from the steel underneath. A painting contractor at my home for another reason examined the damage and stated that there was an oily residue on the steel under the coating and that this was why the coating was detaching. He wiped away the oily residue and applied a thin coat of paint in an attempt to prevent additional peeling, and suggested that I contact the company for warranty assistance since the manufacturing of this product was obviously flawed. The company responded by saying that we had performed "warranty work" without permission and that the warranty was therefore void. It is apparent from other postings that this problem is not unusual and that the company seeks any reason to avoid making necessary repairs. I would not recommend this company or any of their products. By the way, the rest of the home also has steel siding (another manufacturer) which was installed when the home was built in 1973 and there has never been a problem with peeling.


Review Written: 2011-12-28

Alside Review: "We had Alside metal siding installed on our home"

Name: Donna G
Location: Missouri

Metal Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

We had Alside metal siding installed on our home and approximately 3 years ago it started chipping and peeling. We contacted the company, paid our $100 deductible and are still waiting for them to replace the siding. They didn't hesitate to collect our $100, but have since keep saying they're trying to get somebody to do the job! We had a company come out and give them a bid, but now they won't pay what the company wants to have it replaced. This siding company does not stand behind their product!!! I would never ever recommend them or their product to anybody.


Review Written: 2011-08-22

Alside Review: "Unsatisfied"

Name: Donna T

Metal Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

I have left 3 "very unsatisfied" reviews, all of which have not posted to this website! I see, you only post the good reviews so as to not let others know how horrible your siding is!


Review Written: 2011-08-17

Alside Review: "Mrs."

Name: D. Thomas

Metal Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

We had alside steel siding installed on our home and all the paint has chipped off. We have the lifetime warranty, but this company does not seem to want to stand up to their warranty. I would never recommend this product or this company to anybody if you're wanting a company that stands behind their product. It has been over 2 years now that we have been trying to get them to replace the siding, which they have stated is covered by the warranty.



Review Written: 2011-08-08

Alside Review: "Our Alside steel siding started to peel"

Name: Dee T.
Location: Missouri
Model: satinwood

Metal Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Our Alside satinwood steel siding started to peel in June, 2009. We have a lifetime warranty on the siding. We contacted the company, paid our deposit, filled out all paperwork, etc. It is now 2+ years later and they still have not fixed the problem. They keep stating they can not find a contractor to complete the job. What it boils down to is, they will not pay any contractor who has bid on the project what is expected to get the job done. I myself have contacted the company that bid and accepted the job, but they indicated to me Alside did not want to pay them any where near what the job itself would cost. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS COMPANY'S PRODUCT TO ANYBODY!!!!


Review Written: 2011-05-14

Alside Review: "Steel Siding...Paint peels off Lifetime Warranty"

Name: Mrs J.B. Langston
Location: Big Spring, Texas

Metal Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

I purchased Alside Super Steel Siding & had it installed by one of their "contractors" here in west Texas. I was told that it had a "Lifetime Warranty" on all the materials & labor. I have been trying for several years now to get them to look at this siding that is flaking & peeling. To this date I have not had any luck getting anything done about their product they warrant. I have a Warranty Certificate Number on a so called warranty ownership certificate that seems not to be worth the paper it's written on. I will not recommend nor purchase any more items from this company. I am a widow & reaching 90 years old & I don't appreciate the rudeness of this company.

12Next >>