Siding Compare

Consumer Reviews of CertainTeed Vinyl Siding


Popularity:
#8  of 14 Vinyl Siding Brands

43% of Customers Recommend
3 of 5 stars 57 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    19
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    6
  • Neutral
    2
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    2
  • Very Unsatisfied
    28

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to SidingCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of SidingCompare.com.

Read more about CertainTeed vinyl siding

Read reviews of other Vinyl Siding brandsWrite a review

12345Next >>

Review Written: 2021-10-20

CertainTeed Review: "Horrible siding melted within DAYS of installation"

Name: Jared
Location: Franklinville, NC
Model: Mainstreet Double 5" Clapboard

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

We had this siding installed on our new construction home back in 2009. Within days of installation, the siding was bubbling/melting on the front of the house. We filed a warranty claim and CertainTeed sent out a representative who blamed glare from windows (which is ridiculous since the windows are nowhere near the siding, nor do they reflect on that surface). Obviously, based on these reviews, CertainTeed has an inferior product.


Review Written: 2020-10-10

CertainTeed Review: "Bubbles within 24 hours of installation"

Name: Heather
Location: Arkansas
Model: 5 inch woodgrain sable brown

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

This company is awful. I have had my siding replaced over and over and over. I have sunk thousands of dollars into this crap at the point. Within 24 hours of installation, it bubbles on the west facing part of my home. At first we thought it was improper installation and hired another company to come and re-side it. They have installed it 2 times with the exact same outcome and they have done everything by the book. They have told us they have never seen siding so terrible and they do this for a living. Certainteed has been very good at playing the blame game. We are filing a class action lawsuit. I highly advise against using their siding.



Review Written: 2020-05-08

CertainTeed Review: "Melting in the sun"

Name: John Carter
Location: Peterborough, NH 03458
Model: Saint-gobain

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

We had vinyl siding installed at thanksgiving time. It is now March of the nest year and you can tell the vinyl is melting in the sun. The contractor we hired is very good and we have hired him before. I was going to do the whole house but now I doubt it. We had essentially the same siding installed on the garage 20 yrs ago and it still looks brand new. Has the quality diminished that much?


Review Written: 2020-01-24

CertainTeed Review: "Not the color I picked on the swatch"

Name: Breanna Dwyer
Location: baltimore, maryland
Model: Slate Monogram

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

I sent this email below to [email protected] on 1/8/20 and to the sales rep, Jason Ferris on 1/17/20 and I haven't heard a peep and I'm beginning to get a bit frustrated. I just had my new siding installed on my home in November 2019 by Economy Restoration LLC. I chose to go with the Monogram XL Slate for this installation. I paid extra money to have this siding due to it being a unique color and style to give my home curb appeal. It has the curb appeal I was looking for, but the color is 100% not what the swatch looks like in person or the photos on your website. At certain angles the color does appears to be slate, but on most it appears to be more of a chocolate color. I most certainly wasn't looking for a brown siding. This is most obvious when the sun is up and at night it gives me the look that I desired. I figured I'd stand across the street and drive by to get a look at it, and it's still Brown! Even my neighbors that drive by said the same thing. I'm truly dissatisfied with my selection now due to paying extra for the color I didn't receive. I could have paid less money for the darkest gray and would have been much happier. Economy Restoration LLC. had a Certainteed rep come here to grab a swatch to test and was told it was correct, but I disagree with this assessment. There was also a whole box of bad siding with bumps on it. Economy should be back next week to replace this. This is of no fault of Economy because they performed the installation correct. I'm pointing this back at Certainteed about the color. I'm aware what it takes to make colors, but this should not look brown on most angles and distance. Due to my paying the extra money to Economy, I believe it's only fair that Certainteed pays me back what I paid out to them. I'm not getting the same feelings I had hoped I would when picking this out, instead I'm kicking myself. The website and brochure with the swatches should have some sort of disclosure of this chocolate coloring for future business, or just change the color all together to a true slate. Regards, *Breanna Dwyer


Review Written: 2019-11-01

CertainTeed Review: "Don't trust color"

Name: Dennis S.
Location: New Milford CT
Model: Monogram Siding

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Our builder decided to use Certainteed vinyl siding. We selected the color for our siding several months before they actually began installation. Just prior to starting installation our builder called telling us the Silver Ash we selected for the siding was discontinued and he would come to our house to select a new color, implying urgency. When he arrived he only had last year's color sample folder since he said the 2019 versions were not available yet and he placed "x's" by the available colors. The selection was limited. We selected Heritage Cream, based on the color samples, since it looked to be a light neutral color. This was confirmed by the color palette on the website that lists it in the warm brown / tans and Heritage Cream appears to be light tan there. We were shocked when we saw it on the house and it is bright yellow. The yellow color is completely unacceptable to us and not what we expected it would be. I contacted Certainteed and was referred to the warranty dept. They told me Heritge Cream is yellow and I should have looked at it on a house before selecting it. When I mentioned the website calling a warm brown / tan, I was told that is Marketing and she had no control over how they Market it! I filed the claim but Certainteed denied it. I also wrote to the CEO. He referred it back to the warranty dept who simply denied any claim again and when I challenged it I got to speak to a Marketer. He said there was nothing he could do. We are now stuck with our new retirement home in a color we don't like. Our only choices are to spend a high price to completely reside the house or slightly less to repaint it to a different color. It is now several months later and Certainteed still markets Heritage Cream as a warm brown / tan. Do not trust their colors - Do not buy Certainteed


Review Written: 2019-06-23

CertainTeed Review: "Home improvement cont."

Name: David watson
Location: Lancaster, Pa
Model: Monogram

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

I have been installing vinyl siding for about 35 years I have installed over 400 homes in my life time and every time I have used Certainteed Monogram series siding I have had issues with this siding, and the manufacture always comes back with Claim Denied because of installer. I have installed many different types and brands of siding and have had no claims with them except monogram, and Certainteed does not stand behind there products. I buy about a 100,000. In siding per year. So at this point and time I have decided to start using Alside Brand Siding. And I have installed a few home with this type of siding with no issue. So if you are shopping for siding please stay away from Certainteed siding because you won't have a warranty with there products because they don't back it up and always blames the installer.


Review Written: 2018-08-16

CertainTeed Review: "Siding melted"

Name: Dianne Freking
Location: mn
Model: Monogram

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

We had one corner of the house that the siding melted from sun exposure. I contacted the company no response from them no warranty on the siding. To bad so sad. Find another company for siding.


Review Written: 2018-07-12

CertainTeed Review: "Uneven fade"

Name: Ed M
Location: Shelton, CT
Model: Cedar Impressions

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

We had CertainTeed Cedar Impressions installed 18 years ago because our contractor recommended them because of their 50 year warranty on the product. Make sure you read the fine print as it is prorated. Our siding faded in various areas about twice as much as the other areas and left our house with a blotchy look. After filing a claim the rep came out and measured everything with a spectrometer were faded in excess of the allowable limits spelled out by CertainTeed. He reported that all 4 sides were covered under warranty and would be replaced. Wrong, Certainteed sent a letter saying we were entitled to a 10% warranty refund that amounted to a little over $2000. Can't do anything with that as the original job cost over 20K 18 years ago. Would I recommend Certainteed for any of their products. Absolutely not. Already telling friends looking to side their placed to avoid CertainTeed products at all costs. Their products are more expensive at purchase and not really backed up by the company.


Review Written: 2018-05-21

CertainTeed Review: "They dont stand behind their product"

Name: Chris Connors
Location: N.Y

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

I had my house sided and over the winter an area warped. I was told by installers that it looked like a bad square. I wrote the company and told them about what happened sent them pictures and all the stuff they asked for. They got back to me and said it was caused by heat. It did get up to the high 50s once this winter so who knows. I asked them to send a representative but looking at the other reviews it looks like I will be SOL. Look elsewhere before you buy this garbage.


Review Written: 2017-09-24

CertainTeed Review: "Warped, discolored, and chemical odor."

Name: W. Tatro
Location: Peabody, MA
Model: Monogram Ivy Green

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

We have had our siding on the house for about 15 years, but we noticed it starting to fade, warp, and smell on the south side of the house after 10 years. A contractor told us he has never seen siding look like ours, and suggested filing a claim since it's a lifetime warranty. The company was pleasant to talk to on the phone, but it took about 5 months to start really getting through to them. I had to send digital photos to them and the first time they were misplaced. I had to fill out the complaint form twice, because the first one was misplaced. They wanted me to send a 3 foot section of the damaged siding to them, but that would leave an unprotected area on the house since we have none to replace it with. I explained this to them on the phone. I asked if they could send a local representative to look at the damage, and also to smell the chemical odor. They said they only have 5 representatives in the country. I finally called the Better Business Bureau, and CertainTeed told them and us that the damage was caused by a reflection from a window, even though the entire side and half the front has at least discoloring to it, warping and fading in other areas. This is all done from the sunlight and nothing else. It's too bad that there are so many other people going through what we are, but it's a relief to know we are not alone and it's the product, not us. I have also read that there are representatives that can come to the house, so I'm not very hopeful our claim will be settled correctly.



Review Written: 2017-03-13

CertainTeed Review: "Certainteed Monogram Pacific Blue Double 5 warping"

Name: julie schmalz
Location: New Orleans
Model: Pacific Blue

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

As a 5 star Contractor through Certainteed I am very disappointed in their warranty. I have a customer that we installed Certainteed Monogram (their thickest panel) Pacific Blue Double 5 profile to his entire home. When the sunlight shines on the house all of the siding warps and buckles. They have denied the warranty claim stating that it is improper installation. I am Vinyl Siding Institute Certified along with the Certainteed 5 star contractor accreditation. This vinyl was installed correctly per vsi specs. I can see now from other posts that this is a common problem with this siding. Certainteed does not back up their warranty


Review Written: 2017-02-10

CertainTeed Review: "Melted and looks bad"

Name: Elizabeth D. Johnson

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Would not buy again. On home when I purchased it. New home. Denied my claim. Siding appears to melt and looks bad. Siding around two years old. In two places. Told me it was the sun projecting heat from window. I saw on internet a law suit has been filed against the company. If it can not take heat should not be used.

12345Next >>