Siding Compare

Consumer Reviews of Sears Vinyl Siding


Popularity:
#12  of 14 Vinyl Siding Brands

17% of Customers Recommend
2 of 5 stars 23 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    3
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    1
  • Neutral
    0
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    3
  • Very Unsatisfied
    16

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to SidingCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of SidingCompare.com.

Read reviews of other Vinyl Siding brandsWrite a review

12Next >>

Review Written: 2020-06-08

Sears Review: "Terrible experience"

Name: John Champaign
Location: Springfield, IL

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

I got nothing but excuses and delays from Sears Home Improvement in St. Louis. Terrible experience. I won't ever hire Sears home improvement for any project again. Signed contract on September 27th. 2017. Was told the job would start in 1 week and I should hear from our project manager (Linny Delisio-Long) before then. No contact until I called them on October 26th. Was told that our materials had been backordered, but should be in next week. Didn't hear anything until November 8th when I got an e-mail committing to starting the project on November 16th. On November 15th, I sent a confirmation e-mail at which time I was told there was a problem with the permit which would delay start (no idea how they could have expected to start within a week after September 27th, but somehow 6 weeks later they still hadn't gotten the permit - like many of the other delays, this just felt like an excuse to me). On November 17th I was told that the permit had been obtained, but now the work crew wouldn't start until after the holiday (Thanksgiving) After the holiday, Friday, November 25th I e-mailed and called both my project manager's work number and cell number and didn't get a response from her for 4 days. I called the receptionist and asked for the name and contact information for her supervisor. The receptionist refused to give me this information. The project manager called back minutes after this call. She now claimed December 12th is the soonest the job could start. She got rude with me that "after Thanksgiving" didn't mean right after (I guess she thought that some time between Thanksgiving and the end of time was enough information for me). I demanded her supervisors information, got him (Ronald Frazer) on the phone later that day. He heard me out, set up a work crew to start right away - which they did. The work crew was one guy who couldn't speak English. He was a hard worker and did good work, but couldn't give me information such as the timeline of the project. By the time the work was complete, I was out of town for the Christmas holidays. They tried to get me to approve the work based on photos they sent - it turned out there were issues they'd hidden from the photos. I saw these once I got back to inspect the property, was certainly glad that I hadn't signed their completion certificate and sent them the issues that still needed to be resolved. At the end of the project, a railing that had been cut away to install siding wasn't replaced, parts of the lawn were torn up and a window had been broken. The project manager tried to claim that it was an inside window that had been broken - it wasn't - the screen was pierced and the window had been broken. Luckily I'd taken photos at the start of the job and they showed the window was unbroken then. Project manager said they couldn't fix it that day, but they wanted the signed completion certificate. After I repeatedly told them I wanted them to fix it before I signed the certificate, they offered me a low-ball $100 for the broken window. In order to be done with them, I accepted $200 and now I'm having to arrange for repairs for damage that they've done to my property. Never again!


Review Written: 2020-03-14

Sears Review: "Warranty is no good"

Name: Deb Ourada
Location: Lexington,ne

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

The installation workers were great but after about one year a corner piece cracked. We were told that there was no record of our purchase. We were then told that matching the color wasnt possible. The lifetime warranty is a joke and customer service is not existent.



Review Written: 2019-06-14

Sears Review: "Vinal siding and shutters."

Name: D. Grubby
Location: LaGrange NC

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Installation was done very well, happy with the overall materials. Not Happy with service representatives, they never call back, or give you updates. When the install was done, my shutters where not there, the next day they got them, but completely wrong. 11 windows and not one correct, so they reordered. That's where they fell apart. 6 weeks to finally get the shutters done. No one at the service office ever answered calls, no return calls, nothing. I had to call the salesman each time and had him get through to someone. I don't do well with poor service


Review Written: 2019-02-12

Sears Review: "Owner"

Name: H Brauchle

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Their warranty isn't worth anything. Hard to contact them. Had to call several times and no call back. I would recommend using a local installer. Better pricing and local people doing the work. It's no wonder Sears is close to bankruptcy.


Review Written: 2017-04-02

Sears Review: "Siding faded in year 3"

Name: DE
Location: scottsville,ny
Model: Unsure

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

I have been calling. Worked with a Sears man that came over said Sears will send P.W. called c/s several times they closed the case 4 times on me said I never called them back. Lied. My siding is awful. I am too old and tired after trying for 2 and 1/2 years with Sears to solve this. Very sad.


Review Written: 2016-11-06

Sears Review: "Love it"

Name: Mike chambers
Location: San diego

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

I had Windows and siding done with Sears. Windows are top quality and installed with no evasive construction at all. Siding was done by js construction and attention to detail by Jun Sun himself was beyond my expectations. Ask for js construction for guarantee siding install and professional top notch contractor. I am also a licensed GC and can be hard on contractors at times. I am impressed by the work Jun Son does and can see why he is highly seemed out for home improvement projects. The product is great, yes seems are slightly visible up close but does not take away from curb appeal. Happy we chose Sears.


Review Written: 2016-11-04

Sears Review: "Beware cheap looking product"

Name: unhappy
Location: Southern california

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Nothing what salesman made it out to be. Finish product looks very cheap. Seams are very visible and embarrassing. Wish we have not gone with Sears. Stay away from vinyl siding period. This product doesn't compare close to being as quality and appearance of other houses using artificial wood.


Review Written: 2016-07-11

Sears Review: "Fading siding"

Name: N. Kelley
Location: Raytown, MO

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

The siding was suppose to be seamless, it was not! The siding started to fad on a quarter of my house. The lifetime warranty should've covered replacing the siding. However, as others have stated, it did not cover the labor! I am now retired and disabled not able to pay to replace the siding. I have learned to read the fine print! A lifetime warranty isn't necessarily lifetime! Very disappointed.


Review Written: 2016-05-11

Sears Review: "Sears Warranty"

Name: Janine Harrison
Location: League City, TX
Model: Amre Siding

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Our home was purchased with Sears siding already on it. The homeowner provided us with copies of his paperwork that shows a "lifetime, transferable warranty". Ha! First they claimed it was not their siding, then they agreed it was theirs and came to paint the siding that had faded although according to their claims - their siding does not fade. Horrible job, faded again and they will not come and fix the problem. I don't have a copy of the warranty since the original homeowner mailed it in according to their instructions! Never buy siding from sears!


Review Written: 2016-02-17

Sears Review: "Sears Siding Installation Team Stinks"

Name: Tyndra Duran
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Model: Siding

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Thinking of having Sears do the siding on you house? Do not do it. It took 12 hours to clean up their mess after they were done. They removed outside lighting without asking if it was to stay or not. It is now two years later and still no return calls on items relating to the installation. Now the city of Los Angeles is wanting the permit closed. Sears never completed the Permit or had the inspection done while work was in progress! The City Inspector wants Sears to remove a bit of the siding so they can inspection the water proofing that was suppose to be done. So now I am stuck between getting the City what they require and the people at Sears that do not return calls. What a mess!



Review Written: 2016-01-02

Sears Review: "Not completed"

Name: chris odijk
Location: southern Ca

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Our install looked nice but the contracted installer refused to complete the job. We had an area separate from the side of our house. Because they refused to install that area of our house is now two different colors old and faded and new and bright.


Review Written: 2015-12-19

Sears Review: "Price gouging inferior product"

Name: Lee
Location: Cleburne, tx

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Stay away from Sears. They will make false promises so you buy their product and it starts failing before two years are up.

12Next >>