Siding Compare

Consumer Reviews of Cape Cod Wood Siding

#5  of 5 Wood Siding Brands

12% of Customers Recommend
2 of 5 stars 8 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
  • Somewhat Satisfied
  • Neutral
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
  • Very Unsatisfied

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to They do not necessarily represent the opinions of

Read more about Cape Cod wood siding

Read reviews of other Wood Siding brandsWrite a review

Review Written: 2019-04-03

Cape Cod Review: "Very Poor Quality"

Name: Ralph
Location: Muskoka Canada
Model: Cove

Wood Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

We purchased this siding based on looking at In Store samples for a new boathouse. We upgraded to their Pressure Treated boards due to being over water. The quality of the siding provided, both in smoothness of the wood and paint was completely unsatisfactory. I actually complained to the Manufacturer as the wood was so rough, if you brushed against it you would get a sliver. We immediately had to paint the entire boathouse at several thousand dollars in cost to have a surface that was acceptable. Note the store samples must have been painted several coats to look that good, however be forewarned that is not what we received. When I emailed them pictures of the poor painted surface their Q.A. Manager advised "You have purchased a textured wood siding, this product does have a rough surface. Applying extra coats of paint over top will make the surface smoother after each coat, this is called paint buildup". However I purchased the product painted based on the Store product sample quality and certainly it was represented that the product is painted and will not require re-painting for several years and was very smooth. It was like comparing granite rock to the store sample being like glass. Understand this was a large purchase well in excess of $10,000.00 of their product and will never purchase from them again.

Review Written: 2019-01-06

Cape Cod Review: "Buyer beware"

Name: Rob
Location: Newfoundland and Labrador

Wood Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

My home is in an exposes location on hilly terrain that makes maintenance difficult and expensive. This sturdy, low maintenance product seemed the best option. Within three years the knots began to bleed white, a stark contrast to the rich dark strawberry color of the siding. Now after six years I am left with a house that looks like it has been dive bombed by pigeons and gulls, repeatedly. I contacted Cape Cod at the five and a half year mark, they were great to deal with from a warranty perspective and quickly shipped me 20 gallons of paint. I now must decide do I invest the additional thousands of dollars to repaint and hope I am not going to face the same problem again in two years. Or, do I accept that purchasing this product was a very costly life lesson strip it off and cut my losses. Given the inferior product that I now have installed on my house my recommendation is do not purchase this product!

Review Written: 2018-09-23

Cape Cod Review: "Run as far away as you can from these guys"

Name: J foran
Location: moncton.NB

Wood Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

I bought this house 4 yrs ago. The people who built it put Cape cod siding on it. So far I have had to replace trim on 4 windows due to rotten boards! The lady who owned the house actually sold the product at her hardware store. I have tried to talk to the rep but he states no warranty. Nobody locally carries this crap. Run as fast as you can from these guys.

Review Written: 2016-05-17

Cape Cod Review: "Problems"

Name: P. Graham
Location: Penetanguishene Ontario

Wood Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

We thought we were getting top quality and it ended up being junk. The boards have shrunk and split. We have rot in some areas. We had a Cape Cod local rep come and measure and design our project. When went to to the company with our concerns they said it wasn't installed properly even though we followed their design. Please don't waste your money. This company will not stand behind their product.

Review Written: 2016-04-14

Cape Cod Review: "Cape Cod Siding - Poor Quality"

Name: HCC
Location: Kirkfield, ON

Wood Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

We are very disappointed with the Cape Cod Siding and would not recommend it. We installed this product at our home late summer/early fall 2015. We found the boards to be very fragile and cupped and wouldn't lay flat for our Board & Batten installation and often cracked while installing. We contacted Marwood (Cape Cod) and in December 2015 before snow they sent a representative to investigate. He remarked that this appeared to be a good installation and further said the cupping was normal. As for the boards cracking he simply said to apply a high grade caulking and paint. The reason we bought this product is that the manufacturer reported it was sound, would last many years and wouldn't have to paint for 15 years. Now they're recommending we caulk the cracks and paint and it's less than a year old! Now in early spring April 2016 we find these boards have shrunk and gaps have formed and the smaller trim boards installed above windows have all cracked. So much for a careful installation with exact measurements and cuts so boards fit exactly. No satisfactory response from Marwood - Cape Cod This is an extremely poor product and we would not recommend it and now appears we "live" with it or replace the siding!

Review Written: 2016-02-01

Cape Cod Review: "Waranty no good lazy service people"

Name: Dan Mullins
Location: South Maitland NS Can

Wood Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Very poor service when it comes to warranty claims. I complained about my siding 18 months ago and the service warranty personal are so lazy the wont even come to look at the problem. I sent several emails and they told me take all these pictures and email them to them. I think I spent close to $40,000 on the stuff and it was already repaired 1 year after the install. Now all the boards they replaced are a different color then the rest it just looks terrible. And the worst thing is the head office is less than an hour from where I live. Don't buy it you will be sorry after a couple of years and all the warranty they say the have is just a lie. Thanks for nothing Cape Cod!

Review Written: 2011-01-07

Cape Cod Review: "Very Happy"

Location: Miami, FL

Wood Siding Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

My Cape Cod wood siding has left me satisfied. I had it installed around two years ago when I was doing some renovations with my house. I think that it really jazzed up my appeal of my house and I have received compliments. The siding is still in great shape and so far there are no troubles or things I dislike about it. I am also happy with the experience with the company. Everyone was very courteous and professional. When I was shopping around, Cape Cod educated me on their products and general aspects of others instead of just pushing the good points to sell theirs. The installers were clean and quick. Everyone listened to me. They also treated me as a valuable customer. I have never had to repair them. I am overall satisfied with my experience. I would certainly recommend a friend or an acquaintance to purchase Cape Cod wood siding.

Review Written: 2010-12-12

Cape Cod Review: "Siding"

Name: A Nielsen
Location: South Weber, Ut

Wood Siding Satisfaction Rating:
3 of 5 stars Neutral

I'm not satisfied. I need new siding