Siding Compare

Consumer Reviews of Maibec Wood Siding


Popularity:
#4  of 5 Wood Siding Brands

25% of Customers Recommend
2 of 5 stars 8 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    2
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    0
  • Neutral
    0
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    0
  • Very Unsatisfied
    6

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to SidingCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of SidingCompare.com.

Read reviews of other Wood Siding brandsWrite a review


Review Written: 2021-06-18

Maibec Review: "15 year warranty"

Name: D. Harris
Location: LaPeche, QC

Wood Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

I purchased my house at 5-years-old. It is now 10-years-old. Last year gum started to leak out which is okay. Much of the siding has faded but the paint on the sides that get the most sun is disappearing and wood is exposed. I contacted the company but I was told I have to show the purchase receipts to get process started, legally, to get the reparation under warranty. Those receipts would be with the original owner, and they have moved on. Obviously, Maibec comes from the Maibec company. It would have been purchased from Maibec. To keep their customers on file would not be in Maibec's best interest. Keep your receipts when building a house. And, when puchasing a home with Maibec siding, ask the owner for those receipts.


Review Written: 2021-05-02

Maibec Review: "Terrible product"

Name: Cam
Location: Ontario
Model: Natural wood cove profile

Wood Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

We used this product on our new cottage constructed on Lake Huron. After only one season the entire side facing South had shrunken so badly that it was no longer even overlapped in the tongue and groove in numerous areas. Stain over the knots became nonexistent. When the manufacturer was contacted by the contractor, supplier and ourselves we were only offered 10 new boards and a few hundred dollars for labor which was a total insult. They were told so and then they proceeded to withdraw their offer. This company has no desire to stand behind their product and warranty based on our experience. Beware if you want a product that will stand up to full southern exposure this product is an epic failure! I am disappointed that a Canadian company performs no better that this.



Review Written: 2021-04-19

Maibec Review: "Warranty not to be trusted"

Name: Barb Reid
Location: Ontario
Model: Bevelled

Wood Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

After 4 years most of my Maybach requires restaining. Product was put on properly however any knots or anomalies in the wood are already Gray and in some cases cracking. It has nothing to do with water damaged it's just a very poor product. Not helpful when trying to deal with warranty very rude


Review Written: 2020-09-17

Maibec Review: "Worst Service/Company ever"

Name: Anne Dollendorf
Location: Toronto, CA

Wood Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

After Maibec took almost 3 months to deliver the product (shingles) they delivered the wrong product (colour), despite a correct order confirmation. Instead of replacing the shingles we were told in September to wait until Spring. They either don't know what they are doing or are completely incompetent which is - I guess - the same


Review Written: 2019-12-03

Maibec Review: "Great Product!"

Name: L Urquhart
Location: London, ON
Model: URBAHN Series

Wood Siding Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

We did a small project using this product (pool shed) but I wish we had done our entire house in it. It looks great and we've had zero issues with it. I have read negative reviews about it and most of them had to do with poor installation. I will admit that maibec seems very particular with how their product is installed. For example, if you only install one staple, instead of two, there is a real chance you'll have issues later. We had it installed to the manufacturers specifications and so far, so good.


Review Written: 2019-09-02

Maibec Review: "Stay Away"

Name: Declan
Location: Uxbridge, Ontario
Model: Modern brushed

Wood Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

This product is absolute garbage! I have spent over $30k on product and $25k for installation... the product is [email protected] after 1 year. The manufacturer blames the install, the installer blames the product. The installer is a total shister but I do believe the product is garbage. If I could attach photos I would. Itís insane how many planks have shrank, bulged out, splintered ... omg it has a 30 or 50 year warranty??? Impossible. Maibec says itís because the contractor used 1 staple instead of 2..ridiculous. I am in the process of talking to a lawyer, may have to sue all involved...the manufacturer, the seller and the installer.


Review Written: 2018-08-01

Maibec Review: "Board & Batten - Fail"

Name: Courtney Malcolm
Location: Kitchener, ON

Wood Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

We purchased the board & batten siding to be installed on our house, a $30,000 job that you would hope to receive quality product for. We were too far along with the install before realizing the material was sub-par. The boards and battens were cracked and un-usable. The areas that they were cracked had stain and were glued together. This means Maibec glued the wood at manufacturing and still sent it to the customer. After identifying this problem to Maibec they did nothing - did not stand behind their product. They were happy enough to take our money however. These people were very difficult to deal with and even when a representative come out after many complaints- they did nothing but say its just what it is. Very unsatisfied in customer support. I do not recommend their product.


Review Written: 2011-04-26

Maibec Review: "Maibec Wood Siding"

Location: Valencia,Ca
Model: TF-04E

Wood Siding Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

I've Owned this product for about 3 years now, I love that the wood siding is part plastic to make it more weather resistant. I dislike nothing about it, and it has never needed repair, i would definitely recommend this product to a friend!