Siding Compare

Consumer Reviews of TruWood Wood Siding


Popularity:
#3  of 5 Wood Siding Brands

23% of Customers Recommend
2 of 5 stars 17 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    3
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    1
  • Neutral
    2
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    10

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to SidingCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of SidingCompare.com.

Read more about TruWood wood siding

Read reviews of other Wood Siding brandsWrite a review

12Next >>

Review Written: 2021-02-24

TruWood Review: "Good but takes lots of preperation"

Name: David T.
Location: Carson City, NV, United States

Wood Siding Satisfaction Rating:
4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

This siding is only as good as the person installing it. Needs preparation, namely sealing to prevent moisture intrusion. And the manufacturer recommends the siding be installed over exterior plywood. Considering the prep and installation requirements, this product may exceed the installer's experience and budget.


Review Written: 2020-07-02

TruWood Review: "Swells and scratches"

Name: Jim Smit
Location: South Dakata

Wood Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Company does not stand behind their product, swells and scratches just by looking at it! Purchased the house with this stuff on it and the house was only 4 years old, the siding started fading and chipping along with the swelling. It is not a hardwood product, it is pressed cardboard product.



Review Written: 2018-03-21

TruWood Review: "Complete garbage product"

Name: JE
Location: California

Wood Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Installed the TruWood lap siding on my home in the San Francisco Bay Area. Within a year the siding started to swell and expanded like a sponge. I replaced half the siding and within a year the same conditioned happened again. I filed a warranty claim with the company and they basically do not stand behind their product. They sent the warranty booklet and scheduled an appointment with their contractor. His conclusion was that joint connectors were not installed therefor the warranty is void. Home Depot sells the product but doesn't sell the joint connectors... The also do not note that additional instruction is required or offer the installation instructions... Stay away from this product and this company!


Review Written: 2017-09-11

TruWood Review: "Buyer"

Name: Steve McCort
Location: Yosemite< CA
Model: Cottage lap

Wood Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Absolute garbage! This stuff is actually made from particle board "Pine" No wonder it expands an inch in a 16' length. Do not even consider the product.


Review Written: 2017-08-08

TruWood Review: "Extremely poor siding"

Name: Terri Newton
Location: Payson, Arizona
Model: Sure Lock Lap Siding

Wood Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

We had new TruWood siding placed on our house, garage (new building), and art studio in 2017, this year! It is August and we are on our second removal/replacement of completely warped siding! That's two times we've had to go through having siding ripped off and replaced on our house and garage. The art studio seems to be holding up. The manufacturer of the TruWood, Collins Products LLC, has denied any responsibility. Our contractor ate the first replacement himself. This second replacement is being covered by TruWood. Apparently the 35 year warranty is worthless. Strong warning to not use this product. We are in Payson, Arizona, where there is a moderate amount of rain.


Review Written: 2017-08-02

TruWood Review: "Tru wood trim"

Name: Dennis
Location: Missouri

Wood Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

I built a new home with JHardie siding. Tru wood was used for the trim. Within 2 years the siding started disintegrating. It swells, splits, and molds. I had Tru Wood representative inspect and of he said it looked like the contractor did a good job of placement. I had contractor and Meeks lumber (where it was purchased) inspect. Tru Wood then denied claim stating that it was improperly installed. Contractor wanted to replace only the bad parts yet stated that the rest would go bad. Meeks denied claim stating it was Tru Wood's problem. Do not use this product. Do not use Meeks lumber.


Review Written: 2017-02-10

TruWood Review: "Do not know what you are asking for"

Name: Old world stairs & trim
Location: Joplin mo
Model: 8" lap

Wood Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Installed siding exactly as directed. After 2 yrs the product failed in all areas that were in direct exposure to the elements. While removing the siding we examined its composition to find it is medium density fiber board blended with a mixture of wood fibers. Do not, I repeat do not buy this fake siding!


Review Written: 2016-10-03

TruWood Review: "Truwood fails just like LP siding"

Name: PETE CAMPBELL
Location: Auburn, WA

Wood Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

We have Truwood siding that failed. The joints failed and also failed mid board with a huge crack. Siding contractor gave me a quote to repair it and said it was installed correctly. Truwood rep said it was installed incorrectly and offered some caps to cover the joints. Truwood warranty says its for 30 years but they aren't standing behind it. They have an inspector say its not there fault or the warranty is only for the original homeowner. Don't use this product.


Review Written: 2016-05-24

TruWood Review: "Warping and Fungus"

Name: Me Me
Location: CA

Wood Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

I've had Colin's Truwood siding professionally installed and in less than a year it's warping and has fungus. I wanted LP Smartside and the contractor sold me on the Truwood. Totally unsatisfied. It's now 18 months I have to already replace.


Review Written: 2015-08-24

TruWood Review: "Nightmare"

Name: Jim Walton
Location: Stillwater, OK

Wood Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Don't walk, run from this product. It will swell and fall apart within a few years of installation. No matter how perfect the install is.



Review Written: 2015-07-25

TruWood Review: "Collins TruWood siding faulty"

Name: Heath Lafromboise
Location: Montana

Wood Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

I just moved in to a brand new house in July of 2015 that me and my family had built. We put Truwood sidding on it and a couple of months later the but joints and some of the ends around our windows and doors shrunk over an inch. Truwood denied any faulty product because it was not face nailed at every but joint. Mind you it was nailed at the top and still shrunk there also. I took several pictures of the exact same siding on two other structures and the siding was also not face nailed and it never shrunk. I brought this to their attention and still they denied me. Terrible product and terrible warranty. Would not recommend anything from this half baked company!


Review Written: 2011-04-29

TruWood Review: "Wood Siding Review"

Location: Annapolis, MD

Wood Siding Satisfaction Rating:
3 of 5 stars Neutral

I've been renting the property with wooden siding for over 4 years. I've been relatively pleased with its performance. I like how I'm easily able to paint the house if I decide to change the color. I do dislike the maintenance it requires from time to time. I've yet to have to replace it although I have had to perform minor repairs, as being exposed to the elements has taken it's toll on the integrity of my siding. Chips have developed, where basically wooden chunks have come off, I believe this has come from high winds impacting less structurally sound areas of the wood leading to pieces basically falling right off. Maintaining has been a bit of a hassle as twice now I've had to apply a third party sealer as required by the landlord. I don't think if I was in the position to purchase siding I would be getting wooden siding again. I would go for a more modern material such as vinyl or plastic -- something a bit easier to maintain

12Next >>