Siding Compare

Consumer Reviews of Alside Vinyl Siding


Popularity:
#13  of 14 Vinyl Siding Brands

14% of Customers Recommend
1.5 of 5 stars 27 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    3
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    1
  • Neutral
    1
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    2
  • Very Unsatisfied
    20

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to SidingCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of SidingCompare.com.

Read more about Alside vinyl siding

Read reviews of other Vinyl Siding brandsWrite a review

<< Previous123Next >>

Review Written: 2016-10-22

Alside Review: "Poor Quality"

Name: Ben C
Location: Leesburg GA

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

We put Alside siding on our house about 10 years ago. It has not held up well at all. Several places have chipped, and it doesn't take much to punch a hole in it. Not durable at all. Also you cannot find anywhere that stocks this brand and the installers "Advantage Vinyl Siding" Albany GA, will not respond either. I would recommend not using this brand at all costs.


Review Written: 2016-07-08

Alside Review: "Poor Quality - Worst Warranty Dept. Ever"

Name: Kate DuShole
Location: Pasadena, MD

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

I had Charter Oak Ivy Installed on my house in December of 2003. I noticed this spring that it's flaking, peeling, and warping. I contacted the Warranty in Ohio and they emailed me a form to fill out with instructions on taking photographs. I mailed everything the following day via certified mail. Two-and-a-half weeks passed after I knew they had received my package. I'd heard nothing from them so called again and was told by "Nicole" that they just received it. BS, I knew better. After being on the phone for nearly 30 minutes, Nicole instructed me that I would need to send in a sample of my faulty siding. What? I asked. I was told to cut a piece of the siding, no longer than four feet and no shorter than one foot, and mail it to them for "testing". I'm very upset over this and explained I have no means to cut the siding myself and I don't like the thought of my home being exposed to the elements. I was told I could "cancel my claim" if I didn't want to honor their request. Exactly what they want! When I asked how long this "testing" would take, the answer was' "I don't know." So what happens if they determine this is not covered under their warranty? I'll be missing a section of siding on my house. This is piss poor customer service to put the onus on the home owner for their inferior product!



Review Written: 2016-06-27

Alside Review: "No Warranty Support"

Name: R. Kra
Location: Daly City, CA

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

I had the same experience as several other posters with the moss green Alside vinyl siding I had put on my house in 2012. One small section warped after only about 1 year which they replaced free of charge. Two years later, same issue in the same area. Sent a warranty packet including pictures, never heard anything back. Called after about a month, was told they hadn't looked at it yet but the lady on the phone said it looked like thermal damage and she would have one of their engineers look at the pictures. Another 30 days passes and I get a letter telling me they've determined from the pictures its thermal (magnified sun) damage and not covered under warranty. Still scratching my head over how it could be covered under warranty the first time and not the second. Looks like my options are limited to either suing them, dealing with it, or replacing it at my expense. I'll be sure to never use their products again and would advise other to stay clear.


Review Written: 2016-04-26

Alside Review: "Warping, twisting, buckling and wrinkling"

Name: Gary Quam
Location: Snohomish, WA
Model: Charter Oak, Dutch Lap

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

I put Alside Charter Oak xl, Ivy Green on my house in 2004. The house was only 8 years old, but had been sided with some kind of pressboard that was deteriorating. So I had to make a $20,000 investment after owning the house for only 6 years. After a lot of research, and weighing the pros and cons, I decided on vinyl siding. My house is very tall and painting would be very expensive, and I figured I would never have to paint again with Vinyl. Now, the siding is warping an buckling in one area on the house. I put together a warranty claim package, sent it in, and then after 2 weeks called Alside because I hadn't heard from them. They hadn't even looked at the claim and had trouble finding it. Once found, the woman looked at the picture for 30 seconds and said, we don't cover thermal issues. Oh, so Alside should not be installed on the outside of the house, or anywhere the sun shines? She then said it is because of reflection from the neighbors windows. I call bull on that. I have never seen the neighbors windows reflect light on my house. That side of the house is typically dark and shaded. The morning sun does shine part way through for awhile. I think this is "reflection" answer is just a canned answer. Even though it may happen, how can they deny my claim in 30 seconds without any kind of investigation or proof. Now for the difficult part. Alside has discontinued the Ivy green color. I have read on the internet that the dark color absorbed too much heat, and there were problems with buckling and wrinkling. So now I have this small area that I need to fix, but there is no matching siding to replace it with. I will have to paint. I am so sorry I put this junk on my house. I will have to figure something out, but if I could do it all over again, I would not buy vinyl siding.


Review Written: 2015-07-05

Alside Review: "Don't buy this product!"

Name: M Behr
Location: Madison, WI
Model: Prodigy Moss Green

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Window reflection is also the excuse that Alside used for buckled siding that basically melted in the summer heat on the West side of our Wisconsin home. The product was installed 3 years ago, so it's supposed to be covered 100% by the bogus warranty. I ran this scenario by two family members who are both physics professors, and according to their calculations, light reflected off a window is not as hot as direct sun rays, confirming the other very unsatisfied client's thermometer study. I will have to pay my installer to replace the product just so I can sell my house. The installer himself stated that the product will melt in very hot weather, and that he is terribly embarrassed by Alside's behavior. He is replacing the damaged siding at cost but that's still around $1k. Our consolation is that we will not use this on our new house, nor will one of our neighbors who was seriously thinking of using the siding since the Moss Green color is quite beautiful.


Review Written: 2014-08-25

Alside Review: "Warranty Support"

Name: Steven Easter
Location: Marysville Oh

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

We built our house in 2004. This spring we noticed a white chalky appearance to much of the siding on the southern and eastern exposure. We filed a claim in May provided all the documents Alside required in late August they refused our claim. The quality of this product is very poor. It doesn't hold up over time. I would not recommend Alside under any circumstances. They do not stand by their products.


Review Written: 2014-07-23

Alside Review: "Warranty issues"

Name: S. Granet
Location: Rock Island, IL

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Be aware that your vinyl siding will warp because of reflection from the windows and the company will not stand behind it. My daughter bought their siding in 2004 and no where in the warranty is this mentioned. She and her husband wouldn't have purchased it if they had known. Since then the company has discovered this is a problem and have put it in the new warranties. No where is it in theirs. This major company can afford the damage more than my daughter and her husband can. Just another case of corporate American taking advantage of the consumer. Don't go with Alside!


Review Written: 2012-09-26

Alside Review: "Thermal damage and cracking = Horrible Product"

Name: T Mc
Location: Orange, CA

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Had Alside (Associated Materials) siding installed less than a year ago. Have two sections of thermal damage and multiple areas of cracking on the bottom edge of the siding. Associated Materials claims it is not a product issue but an issue of reflected light from the windows of the house. I've rented a ir thermometer and measured the temperature of the material at 1 hour increments of the hottest days of summer it is not even close to the limit suggested by the Vinyl Siding Institute. Bottom line, poor quality product, poor customer service, useless warranty.


Review Written: 2011-11-13

Alside Review: "Dutch Lap"

Name: Robert Elliott
Location: Clovis, NM
Model: Conquest

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Although I am very satisfied with Alside vinyl siding, it has been approximately six weeks since the project began and they are not finished. During that time, we have had some of the siding come loose and is working its way off the house. Also, the thermal barrier is pieced together with wide gaps and was not taped or wrapped with an exterior wrap material. Almost daily, we have been on the phone with a Sears representative working our way up through the chain with no resolution on the roof damage caused by their contractor. Although they did not damage the roof, they removed a long piece of the drip edge which allowed our high winds to get under the rolled roofing material and peeled it back over itself. Now, they are saying the winds caused the damage. Now, it has been a whole month since the damage to the roof occurred and we are no closer to finishing the siding than a month ago. Very dissatisfied at this point!


Review Written: 2011-11-05

Alside Review: "Homeowner"

Name: AF
Location: Broken Arrow, Ok

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Have had siding on house 5 years. Now have warping and is falling off house. Had a representative from Alside come out. Took about a month and half to get him out there. Did not know if they even looked at the house and siding, but a comment was written in folder that it was labor issue. Don't buy that! I feel they should back their products. My siding looks like slices of bacon. That's not a labor problem, but a defective product.



Review Written: 2011-09-22

Alside Review: "UNHAPPY CUSTOMER"

Name: Angela Jones
Location: SC

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

The Alside warranty department is horrible. You are simply wasting time by submitting documentation so they can deny your claim in writing. The denial comes in the form of a generic letter with no reason other than "your concern is not covered under the warranty." Try to call someone on the telephone and you get told "we mailed you a letter" and "all the supervisors and corporate staff are in meetings". I found they meet m-f from 8-5 then go home so you can never reach them nor will you get a call back. Alside is a horrible company who will not stand behind their product!!!!


Review Written: 2011-06-02

Alside Review: "Great value vinyl siding: Alside Conquest"

Location: Columbia, TN
Model: Conquest

Vinyl Siding Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

I have owned my Alside Conquest siding since my house was built, 6 years ago. A few years ago there was a large storm and a tornado touched down nearby and a couple of panels of my siding had some damage where debris had been blown into it and had to be replaced, but other than that, I have had no problems with the siding. Although I expect it to last much longer than six years, thus far I have been very happy with the appearance, durability, and energy efficiency of the siding. It looks the same now as when it was installed on the house, the color hasn't faded at all. As I said, I expect it to last much longer than it already has, but so far I am very happy and when the time comes to replace the siding, I would use this brand again. I would also recommend this brand to my friends if they asked for advice on siding. If you are in the market I would recommend looking into it; it's good siding at a very reasonable price.

<< Previous123Next >>