Siding Compare

Consumer Reviews of HardiePlank Cement Siding


Popularity:
#2  of 5 Cement Siding Brands

78% of Customers Recommend
4 of 5 stars 61 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    40
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    8
  • Neutral
    3
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    2
  • Very Unsatisfied
    8

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to SidingCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of SidingCompare.com.

Read more about HardiePlank cement siding

Read reviews of other Cement Siding brandsWrite a review

123456Next >>

Review Written: 2020-03-09

HardiePlank Review: "This company is a Joke"

Name: Lisa Emling
Location: DuQuoin, IL

Cement Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

We built our home in 2012 and had HardiePlank installed per the installation specs by our professional builder. This siding is warping and curling on two sides of my house and looks absolutely horrible! I filed the claim on 1/3 and was told I would have a response in 4-8 days. After 3 additional emails and two calls, I finally was notified today that the claim was rejected. This company is a joke and their warranty is worthless. Evidently 90% of the claims are rejected! My house looks horrible and "as a gesture of good faith" they will give me a voucher for up to 5 pcs of siding to use for future repairs. No thanks!! I'll be ripping this junk off and installing vinyl. Glad I have an attorney in the family ;)


Review Written: 2019-06-24

HardiePlank Review: "Junk Siding in my opinion"

Name: Aaron Bradley Nuss
Location: milwaukee

Cement Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

I wish I never bought a house with this siding. It is warping, shrinking, paint is flaking off, etc. Their warranty department is a joke! This is a 50 year siding that needs to be replaced in Ten years! They do not stand behind their product in my opinion. They are terrible to work with. I think LP Smartside will replace this junk!



Review Written: 2018-06-06

HardiePlank Review: "Extreme Fading & Chalking - Be Aware"

Name: S. Hennessey
Location: Helena, MT

Cement Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

I strongly do not recommend anyone using the Hardieplank siding with their ColorPlus paint job pre-applied. Our home was built in 2006 and my professional builder installed to factory specifications. The siding itself has held up fine but the ColorPlus 15 year factory painted finish is a farce. At the time it was more expensive than all other sidings but we chose it primarily for the 15 year paint warranty. Well, at year 8 we have significant paint fading all over our 3000 square foot home. It is visible from the street and our home now needs to be repainted which will cost us $8000. We were put in contact with the Regional Sales Representative who reviewed our complaint and photos only to refer us to the "Claims Department". Customer service is poor. Yes, I see a class action lawsuit pending. It is deceptive for James Hardie to say their ColorPlus paint job has a 15 year warranty when you have obvious fading over the entire house.


Review Written: 2017-10-23

HardiePlank Review: "Significant fading"

Name: S Brown
Location: Northern Minnesota
Model: 15yr

Cement Siding Satisfaction Rating:
2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Installed Hardie plank siding pre painted 15 yr warranty. Fading and checking of product after 7 yrs. Parts I painted with a quality paint to match planks still look like new after 10 yrs.


Review Written: 2017-08-09

HardiePlank Review: "Do Not Use This Product"

Name: bmbutler
Location: Greenville, NC
Model: ColorPlus

Cement Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

I strongly do not recommend anyone using the Hardieplank siding with their ColorPlus paint job pre-applied before shipping of product. My hone was built in 2010 and my builder said he was being given an extra incentive if I would use Hardieplank siding on my home. I read about it and chose it primarily for the 15 year paint warranty. Well, I am at the 7 year mark from when it was installed. I have have significant paint fading all over my almost 2000 square foot cape code style home. It is visible from the street and my home now needs to be repainted which will cost me out of pocket $5000-$6000 minimally. I filed a warranty claim with James Hardie and sent it pictures. My claim was denied (which I have read is quite common), but offered a $1500 voucher towards paint if I had the house painted within 180 days. I don't have $5000-6000 dollars right now. If I signed their agreement, I would also lose any legal recourse now and in the future so in affect would be signing away my legal rights. No way. There is a class action lawsuit awaiting certification on my issue and several others. Lawyers are waiting on the judge's decision. I have already been in touch with one of the plantiff's attorneys to discuss my case and will be watching for the decision VERY closely. It is shameful for James Hardie to say their ColorPlus paint job has a 15 year warranty, but when you have obvious fading over the entire house (and the entire house does not get direct sunlight), forget it. You are on your own. Shameful company. Stay away and don't end up with my problem and many others that are well documented.


Review Written: 2016-04-14

HardiePlank Review: "Not Satisfied"

Name: B Larsen
Location: St George NB

Cement Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Put Hardiplank on a new house in 2007, was prefinished, painted boards. We have since had to paint it twice, the paint is peeling off again, we are taking the Hardiplank off the house. Had difficulty contacting the company for warranty on the boards. Would not use again.


Review Written: 2016-04-11

HardiePlank Review: "Paint falling off"

Name: greg watson
Location: levant maine

Cement Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

The paint was falling off my Hardie Plank the first year and has never stopped. The Hardie Plank co. has not even spoke to me about my siding once.


Review Written: 2012-07-25

HardiePlank Review: "Smooth Hardie Plank Siding, many problems, poor service"

Name: J P
Location: WI

Cement Siding Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

I would never use this product again, the compnay is terrible!! Our Hardie Plank smooth siding has been a big disapointment. After siding about half of the house we noticied in various types of lighting it had divets about the size of a golf ball as well as blisters of the same size. We then called our distributor who came out and looked at the product and agreed it did not look good. We waited four weeks for a Hardie Plank rep to stop out and look over the problem. Our Rep Elsa Sanchez was 100% worthless! She said she had never seen the problem and asked us to not put anymore siding on the house. I informed her that any delay in the siding would push our entire project back as we needed to paint facia, soffit, new gutters, downspouts, re-grade yard etc. She told us she was going to send some of the product back to the factory for review, it would take 3 days as she was going to FedEx the samples back. Well 3 days turned into a month, too many things happened but it could not be any worse. In the month delay we had rain issues in the house as the lack of gutters allowed a driving rain behind the house wrap. Hardie Plank is not willing to stand behind the product, they will NOT pay to have it removed, reinstalled or for any rain damage, costs from delaying the project or attorney fees. Read the fine print prior to even thinking of using this product, remember ours was defective from the factory, which is another issue, do they have any type of quality control?? Now the factory is questioning if anything is really wrong with our siding !!! REALLY !!! I guess big divets and blisters are what you get from Hardie Plank, they think it is just fine!


Review Written: 2011-06-23

HardiePlank Review: "The greatest cement siding I have ever witnessed"

Location: Downingtown, PA

Cement Siding Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

I have owned this cement siding for about 7 years and it is by far the best I have ever witnessed. 7 years have passed and it literally still seems completely brand new. It is unbelievable how durable it is. I don't dislike anything about it. I know the warranty is really great even though there pretty much will never be a need to use it. I recommend this to anybody who needs cement siding.


Review Written: 2011-06-23

HardiePlank Review: "The Cement Siding we Chose During Construction"

Location: Puyallup, WA

Cement Siding Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

When we engaged in a lengthy construction project 5 years ago, there were numerous choices we were obligated to make. Of course one such decision was the material that would be used for the exterior of our home. After much investigation, research, studying construction and design magazines and just simply driving about several neighborhoods, we arrived at our choice. That choice was to use Hardy Plank cement siding for the exterior of our home. Our contractor had also recommended it as well and had used it for her custom home. We were also faced with the issue of fire safety issues and as our home is on a large wooded lot there was no fire hydrant nearby. To circumvent having to put a sprinkler system in the ceilings which would have been costly, the clearest and most cost effective choice was to use cement siding and a composite roof. All in all, we have had no problems or complaints and would definitely recommend it to a friend and or use it again.



Review Written: 2011-05-28

HardiePlank Review: "Hardieplank Looks Good, takes paint well, durable"

Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan

Cement Siding Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

When I wanted to side my garage I originally purchased a pressed board product with a wood grain texture, but it looked cheap and nasty and more importantly looked like it would not hold up to the Michigan climate. The smooth HardiePlank seems at first to give an unnatural look, but in fact it is better than any of the fake wood-grain materials. I've had HardiePlank on my garage for about 15 years now and it has held up beautifully. I did the installation myself. My only complaint is that the cutting of the material creates a lot of dust when done with a circular saw, but there are specialized tools for cutting that eliminate this problem. What I liked best is that the material took paint beautifully -- I painted quickly with a sprayer -- and it has held up like, well, like cement. I recommend HardiePlank to anyone who asks and I would readily use it again. If I had a big job to do I would rent or perhaps even buy the shears necessary to reduce the dust.


Review Written: 2011-05-14

HardiePlank Review: "Consumer review of Hardiplank siding"

Location: Atlanta, GA

Cement Siding Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

I've had Hardiplank siding on my home for over 7 years. I like it because it is not susceptible to rot which is a serious problem in a high humidity climate. It also holds paint quite well. The original paint on my Hardiplank siding is still in great shape after 7 years. There has been no deterioration of the siding. No repairs or replacements have been necessary. The Hardiplank siding is very durable. It has held up well to several storms with high wind conditions. I would highly recommend this product to anyone. I am in the real estate business, and the only siding products that are acceptable to buyers without any misgivings or concerns is Hardiplank cement siding or brick. Since Hardiplank is at least 15% cheaper than brick, is the logical choice for anything other than luxury homes.

123456Next >>